Library Guides: Political Science &amp; Legal Studies: Find Articles

Off-Campus Database Access

Database Login Instructions

Click on the database you would like to use
The login page will open asking for your username and password:
The username and password is the same information used for campus services like Blackboard, ServiceHub, and Office 365.
Once you are authenticated, you can use any database until you restart your browser
If you are unable to log in, please submit an IT ticket .

Inter-Library Loan

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is how we get books and articles not owned by the Manhattanville University Library. Use your Mville credentials (same as Blackboard or Servicehub) to login.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a convenient way to search across multiple databases simultaneously. Look for the FullText@Mville links, then click on Article to retrieve full text.

From off-campus, set Scholar Preferences to use Manhattanville as your library before searching.

Manhattanville College Library Databases

Search Manhattanville Subscription databases to locate periodicals for your research. The database page is arranged so that you can search the alphabetical listing of databases or the subject listing of databases. See History, Political Science, and Law to find databases in the area of political science.

Alphabetical Database List
Manhattaville Library Database page

Useful Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
American Economic Association Journals This link opens in a new window
Complete issues of AEA journals (beginning with the 2012 issues) are now available for download in PDF format.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Select from a variety of different databases in various disciplines.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
is an interdisciplinary archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, includeing African-American studies, anthropology, Asian Studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, sociology and statistics. Indexed articles are at least 2-5 years old, since JSTOR does not index current journals but is retrospective. All scholarly journals are in PDF format.
ProQuest Direct This link opens in a new window
is a multidisciplinary database. ABI/Inform database contains 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals, including Harvard busienss Review for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and more. GenderWatch provides full-text articles and citations from publications focusing on women's studies, gender and gender roles. Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
provides popular peer-reviewed journals in various fields including communication studies, criminology, education, health science, management and organization studies, materials science, political science, psychology, sociology, and urban studies and planning all published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided.

Subject Guide

Paula Moskowitz

Contact:

Manhatttanville University Library
2900 Purchase Street
Purchase, NY 10577
Paula.Moskowitz@mville.edu

Subjects: Applied Behavior Analysis, Business, Education, Legal Studies