Find Articles - Related DatabasesFind Articles - Special TopicsFind Articles- Area StudiesFind Articles- Database Trials
Primary Sources - EuropePrimary Sources - United States
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Ask a Librarian Library home page
Admin Sign In 

History Department Research Guide  Tags: history reference databases primary_sources  

A comprehensive guide to research resources in History
Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://mville.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles - Core Databases            Print Page
  
 

Making of America Journals


"Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion,and science and technology" (University of Michigan). Browse the full-text of thirteen 19th-century journals including DeBow's, Ladies Repository, and Southern Quarterly Review. Over 50,000 journal articles currently available.

 

Sample Articles

In honor of The War by Ken Burns, find below a list of scholarly journal articles about the 6-month-long Battle for Guadalcanal published over the last ten years. Click on a title to open up a new page with a complete article citation.

Feel free to contact me if you would like to learn how to set up a similar bibliography for a class or project.


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a convenient way to search across multiple databases simultaneously.  Look for the FullText@Mville links, then click on Article to retrieve full text. 

From off-campus, set Scholar Preferences to use Manhattanville as your library before searching.

Google Scholar

Find Articles - History Databases

The following databases index and in many cases provide full-text access to the peer-reviewed journal literature, i.e. secondary literature, of history.

Note: Digital archives such as JSTOR and Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) can be considered primary-source databases depending upon the researcher's purpose.

  • America: History & Life  
      
    This venerable index contains article abstracts from 1,700+ scholarly journals focusing on the history of the region now occupied by the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Covers 1964 to date.
  • Historical Abstracts  
      
    Provides article abstracts from journal literature on the history and culture of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR is the premier scholarly journal archive. The Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, and Complement Collections offer full-text access to more than 60 core history journals dating back in some cases to the early twentieth century.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)  
      
    PAO "is a major online periodical archive that makes the [full-text] backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically." PAO currently offers access to 450 journals spanning some 300 years.
  • Project MUSE  
      
    Project MUSE, a joint venture of the Johns Hopkins Press and Milton S. Eisenhower Library, provides full-text access to the Press's scholarly journals. Over 40 important history titles are included. Coverage begins in 1995.
 

Library Liaison

Profile ImageJeff Rosedale
Email me at rosedalej@mville.edu


Contact Info:
LIB 212 ; 914-323-3206

Subjects:
Preceptorial, Political Science, African Studies,

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait