Find Articles - Related DatabasesFind Articles - Special TopicsFind Articles- Area StudiesFind Articles- Database Trials
Primary Sources - EuropePrimary Sources - United States
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Ask a Librarian Library home page
Admin Sign In 

History Department Research Guide  Tags: history reference databases primary_sources  

A comprehensive guide to research resources in History
Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://mville.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Book Reviews            Print Page
  
 

H-Net History Reviews

H-Net provides full text scholarly book reviews, 1993 to date, in the humanities and social sciences. Find below a sample list of scholarly reviews in military history written by academic contributors to H-Net. RSS feeds for reviews in other areas of history are available.


Loading RSS Feed...

Book Review Journals

Two scholarly history journals that specialize in publishing academic book reviews:
 

Book Reviews in History: The Basics

The core history journal databases — America: History & Life (Ebsco), Historical Abstracts (Ebsco), ProQuest and JSTOR — are excellent tools for locating scholarly book reviews, as to a lesser extent is Academic Search Premier. In addition to book reviews, the aforementioned databases index scholarly journal articles, dissertations, editorials, and speeches, so be sure to limit your search to "Book Review" in America: History & Life and "Reviews" in JSTOR. The "Book Review" Document Type is not available in Historical Abstracts, so when searching this database simply use the keyword "reviews".

The sources listed below also provide book reviews. Mouse over each title for more information.

 

Book Reviews in Library Databases

A more complete list of history book review sources:


Bold indicates source contains reviews from scholarly journals, or a mix of reviews from scholarly and general-interest periodicals.

Databases marked with (*) can be searched together on the EBSCOhost platform. Click the down arrow inside the "In:" drop-down box. Check off as many databases as desired (up to 3 book review sources on this platform), and then click the "Submit" button.

 

Library Liaison

Profile ImageJeff Rosedale


Contact Info:
LIB 212 ; 914-323-3206; Email me at rosedalej@mville.edu. Available through Meebo/Facebook chat most Fridays from 9-11am.

Subjects:
First Year Seminars, Sociology, History, Political Science, African Studies, Asian Studies, German, International Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait