Find Articles - Related DatabasesFind Articles - Special TopicsFind Articles- Area StudiesFind Articles- Database Trials
Primary Sources - EuropePrimary Sources - United States
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Ask a Librarian Library home page
Admin Sign In 

History Department Research Guide  Tags: history reference databases primary_sources  

A comprehensive guide to research resources in History
Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://mville.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Journals            Print Page
  
 

Journal Directories

The AHA's Directory of History Journals lists hundreds of peer-reviewed, English-language history journals with links to the journals' homepages. Certain back issues of many titles are freely available online; others can only be accessed via subscription. Remember to check the Manhattanville Journal Portal in such cases. There is a good chance that the journal you need will be available full-text online through JSTOR, ProjectMuse, or another Manhattanville database.

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) currently lists 116 peer-reviewed history journals that do not charge readers or their institutions for access. Read more about Open Access.


 

Recommended Journal

History Compass is a peer-reviewed journal written by historians with undergraduate students in mind. Unique features of this journal include RSS feeds, lists of the most read and cited articles, podcasts, and teaching and learning guides.


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Search for a Journal

Quick search in the Journal Portal for full-text journals:


The Journal Portal reveals full-text journal titles accessible to Manhattanville students and faculty in any of three formats: online, print, and microform. If the title does not appear in the results list or the available date range does not match that needed, consider filliing out an interlibrary loan request .

Do you have a complete citation and wonder if we have access to the article?  Try using CitationLinker.

 

Scholarly, Popular, or Trade?

Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade publications.


Scholarly Journals Popular Journals Trade Journals
Purpose Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
AuthorsArticles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
AudienceIntended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.Intended for practititioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.

 

Making of America Journals


"Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion,and science and technology" (University of Michigan). Browse the full-text of thirteen 19th-century journals including DeBow's, Ladies Repository, and Southern Quarterly Review. Over 50,000 journal articles currently available.

 

Stay Up-To-Date: RSS Feeds for History Journals

Many online history journals from Blackwell, Cambridge, Oxford, Sage and other publishers offer RSS feeds. Feeds allow researchers to keep up-to-date with recent articles from their favorite journals. Today RSS feeds fill the same role once played by table-of-contents alerting services. Below, by way of example, find an RSS feed for the four most recent issues of Middle East Studies. Please contact me if you have questions about setting up a feed for your favorite history journal.


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Library Liaison

Profile ImageJeff Rosedale


Contact Info:
LIB 212 ; 914-323-3206; Email me at rosedalej@mville.edu. Available through Meebo/Facebook chat most Fridays from 9-11am.

Subjects:
First Year Seminars, Sociology, History, Political Science, African Studies, Asian Studies, German, International Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait