Find Articles - Related DatabasesFind Articles - Special TopicsFind Articles- Area StudiesFind Articles- Database Trials
Primary Sources - EuropePrimary Sources - United States
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Ask a Librarian Library home page
Admin Sign In 

History Department Research Guide  Tags: history reference databases primary_sources  

A comprehensive guide to research resources in History
Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://mville.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources - Overview            Print Page
  
 

By Region

Don't miss the primary-source databases described on the other pages of this guide:

 

Research Manuals

Book-length guides to locating and evaluating primary sources. Click the book jacket to view record on Amazon. These titles are not available full-text online.

  • Student Guide to Research in the Digital Age: How to Locate and Evaluate Information Sources - Stebbins, Leslie F. (Leslie Foster)
    Call Number: ZA3075 .S74 2006
    ISBN/ISSN: 1591580994
    See Chapter 4, "Primary Sources: Online Tools and Digitized Collections"
  • The Historian's Toolbox: A Student Guide to the Theory and Craft of History - Robert C. Williams
    Call Number: D16 .W62 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 076562026X
    See Part 2, "The Tools of History," section on "Sources and Evidence"
 
 

Find Primary Sources: An Introduction

What Are Primary Sources?

"Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories. Primary sources may include letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, speeches, interviews, memoirs, documents produced by government agencies such as Congress or the Office of the President, photographs, audio recordings, moving pictures or video recordings, research data, and objects or artifacts such as works of art or ancient roads, buildings, tools, and weapons. These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past, and when they are used along with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research." (Source: Using Primary Sources on the Web, a website created by the History Section of the American Library Association designed to help researchers locate, evaluate, and properly cite primary sources.)

Scholars analyze and interpret primary sources in secondary works, particularly scholarly monographs (books) and peer-reviewed journal articles. Secondary sources need not be scholarly, however, and can include popular magazine and newspaper articles, non-academic biographies, textbooks, or websites. Please contact your professor or me if you are having difficulty differentiating between primary and secondary sources. Occasionally you might come across a reference to a "tertiary" source. Tertiary sources are essentially reference works; they list, index, summarize, or in some other way facilitate access to both primary and secondary sources. Examples of tertiary sources in history include Historical Abstracts, American National Biography, etc.

 

Primary Sources at Mville and Beyond

 

  • Many primary sources remain available only in paper. These can take the form of reproductions of letters and diaries published in commonly-held books, or rare manuscripts available only in a single archive. Search CastleCat to find primary sources in the library. Look for records in which the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) include the word "Sources". If you see that term it means you have found a primary source record. Note the call # to retrieve the item from the stacks, or click to view electronic resources.
 

CastleCat, the Library Catalog

Search CastleCat to find primary sources in books and other printed works. Begin by taking just a few minutes to understand Library of Congress Subject Headings, or LCSH for short. Subject headings are "tags" applied by professional librarians to records in library catalogs. They are similar to but more specialized than the tags used in blogs and other Web 2.0 applications.

Such tags offer researchers accurate descriptions of books and other library resources. Critically, subject headings provide information about the type of work described: primary source, biography, bibliography, etc. Remember that the term Sources is used as a subheading in LCSH to identify primary-source material. Other primary-source subheadings include Personal Narratives, Correspondence, and Diaries.

Example: A researcher needs to find primary sources on the U.S. Civil War. The most relevant subject heading is United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources. A long and complicated tag, granted, and not very intuitive! Fortunately, the researcher effectively needs to know only that Sources is used as a subheading to identify primary works. The following keyword searche reveal citations to books that contain relevant U.S. Civil War primary documents.

  1. "Civil War" AND "United States" AND Sources
  2. "Civil War" AND "United States" AND Diaries
  3. Reconstruction AND Sources
  4. Gettysburg AND "Personal Narratives"
  5. Confederate AND Correspondence
 

Library Liaison

Profile ImageJeff Rosedale


Contact Info:
LIB 212 ; 914-323-3206; Email me at rosedalej@mville.edu. Available through Meebo/Facebook chat most Fridays from 9-11am.

Subjects:
First Year Seminars, Sociology, History, Political Science, African Studies, Asian Studies, German, International Studies

More Options

More help locating historical documents online and in libraries and archives throughout the country and world...

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait