Database Spotlight
New York Times Historical Newspapers
Manhattanville database, provides scanned images of the New York Times from 1851-2001.
New York Heritage
New York Heritage is a new, searchable online collection of archival materials from repositories around the state.
American Memory
No search for primary-source material is complete without a virtual visit to American Memory at the Library of Congress. This vast online collection can be keyword searched or browsed by topic, time period, or media types that include manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, photos, video recordings, and more.
Highly Recommended
U.S. National Archives

The National Archives and Records Administration is a rich resource for U.S. history. Only a relatively small portion of the collection is available online, however. Begin on the Research page, which includes access to the [National] Archives Library Information Center (ALIC).
The Archival Facility for NARA's Mid-Atlantic Region is located in Center City Philadelphia.
Making of America

"Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology" (University of Michigan).
- Making of America Books - The book collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books with 19th century imprints.
-
Making of America Journals - Over 50,000 journal articles currently available.
DocSouth

"Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs" (University of North Carolina).
BOOKS: Primary-Source U.S. History Databases
The following database provides electronic reproductions of full-text primary-source books. See also the Find Books tab.
- Making of America Books (University of Michigan)

"Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction."
PERIODICALS: Primary-Source U.S. History Databases
The following databases index and in most cases provide electronic reproductions of full-text primary source magazines, journals, and newspapers.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
This Library of Congress project allows users to search and view newspaper pages from 1897-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. - Historical Newspapers Online (a title list from UPenn)
Nick Okrent, history librarian at the University of Pennsylvania, has created his own list of Historical Newspapers available online. Scroll down to the table, where many titles on the list are freely accessible. - Making of America Journals (University of Michigan)
"Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction." Over 50,000 journal articles currently available. - New York Times (1851-2003)
Full-text, full-page image access to the most important U.S. newspaper is now available from ProQuest. The NYT is also available full-text, but not full-page image, from the Lexis and Newsbank databases. See the Newspapers Libguide for more information. - Paper of Record
Freely accessible database, with registration, of historical newspaper images from the U.S. and around the world. - Wall Street Journal (1889-1989)
Via Proquest's Historical Newspapers database; full-text, full-page image access. The WSJ is also available full-text, but not full-page image, from 1984 to date in the ABI/INFORM database.
GOV DOCS: Primary-Source U.S. History Databases
The following databases provide electronic reproductions of full-text primary-source documents originating from domestic and foreign government agencies.
- Footnote.com
Free access to the Constitutional Convention Papers, Continental Congress Papers, George Washington Correspondence, Lincoln Assassination Papers, Pennsylvania Archives, and American Milestone Documents. Click "Original Documents"; search page for "free".
STILL IMAGES & VIDEO: Primary-Source U.S. History Databases
Taken together, visual materials such as drawings and paintings, still photographs and videos constitute an invaluable record of the past. The following database provides access to thousands of image files.
- ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. ARTstor contains approximately 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures.
TR Speaks!
A photo-montage of Theodore Roosevelt with his voice in the background.

Loading Video Clip...
Library Liaison |
Jeff RosedaleLIB 212 ; 914-323-3206; Email me at rosedalej@mville.edu. Available through Meebo/Facebook chat most Fridays from 9-11am.
Subjects:
First Year Seminars, Sociology, History, Political Science, African Studies, Asian Studies, German, International Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait