History-Related Databases
The following databases index scholarly journals, general interest magazines, newspapers, and a range of other mostly secondary-source material in various social sciences disciplines related to history.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is the Libraries most comprehensive, interdisciplinary journal database; It provides full-text access to more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals, many of which are relevant to the study of history. Covers roughly 1970s to date. - Arts & Humanities (1975-) and Social Sciences (1956-) Citation Indexes (Web of Science)
Multi-disciplinary indexes to thousands of art, humanities, and social sciences journals. These databases do not include abstracts but do allow searching by "cited author" and "cited work". In other words, find out who's citing whom. - CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is an excellent source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes scholarship from 1991 onward.
- CQ Researcher (1991- )

Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports published weekly. - EconLit
EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the worldwide literature on economics from over 300 major economic journals, books, and collective volumes. - ERIC (1966-)
The ERIC database contains bibliographic records of research reports, conference papers, teaching guides, books, and journal articles relating to the practice of education. ERIC Digests are included. - Ethnic NewsWatch (1960-)
Full-text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press; articles, editorials, columns, and reviews provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other side of the story. - GenderWatch

GenderWatch is a full-text database of many different types of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, including history. Covers 1970s to the present. - LexisNexis Academic

Search thousands of full-text, general-interest newspapers and magazines from around the world. Includes sections on government, business, and political news, biography, and updated archives of state and federal case law, statutes and regulations. - ProQuest A multidisciplinary set of databases with coverage across all historical subjects.
- PsycINFO (1887-)
Most comprehensive tool for finding sources in psychology. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations. - SocIndex with Full Text
Provides comprehensive coverage of the world's literature on sociology and applied aspects of sociology. Over 1,800 journals are indexed along with relevant dissertations. Citation andabstract included for each record. - SportDiscus with Full Text SPORTDiscus with Full Text covers more than 440 journals dating back to 1985.
Library Liaison |
Jeff RosedaleDescription
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait