Find Articles - Related DatabasesFind Articles - Special TopicsFind Articles- Area StudiesFind Articles- Database Trials
Primary Sources - EuropePrimary Sources - United States
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Ask a Librarian Library home page
Admin Sign In 

History Department Research Guide  Tags: history reference databases primary_sources  

A comprehensive guide to research resources in History
Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://mville.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources - Europe            Print Page
  
 

EuroDocs

EuroDocs is an online directory of primary documents in Western European history compiled by Richard Hacken, librarian at Brigham Young University.

Highly recommended.

 

Gallica

 

The Digital Library of the National Library of France (compare with American Memory, Library of Congress)

 

U.K. National Archives

 

The National Archives of the United Kingdom (compare with NARA in the U.S.)

 

PERIODICALS: Primary-Source European History Databases

The following databases -- one open-access -- index and in most cases provide electronic reproductions of full-text primary source journals and newspapers.

  • Internet Library of Early Journals (ILEJ)  
      
    The purpose of this now concluded open-access project was to digitize "substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data".
  • Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)  
      
    PAO "is a major online periodical archive that makes the [full-text] backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically." PAO currently offers access to 450 journals spanning some 300 years.
 

International Institute for Social History

This Dutch web site has a wide array of resources relating to historical and sociological topics.

STILL IMAGES: Primary-Source European History Databases

This collection of still photographs and other images constitutes an invaluable record of the past.

  • ARTstor  
      
    ARTstor is a digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. ARTstor contains approximately 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures.
 

Library Liaison

Profile ImageJeff Rosedale


Contact Info:
LIB 212 ; 914-323-3206; Email me at rosedalej@mville.edu. Available through Meebo/Facebook chat most Fridays from 9-11am.

Subjects:
First Year Seminars, Sociology, History, Political Science, African Studies, Asian Studies, German, International Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait