Library Guides: Political Science &amp; Legal Studies: Web Sites

Evaluating Websites

Five Criteria For Evaluating Web Pages

Legal Research Guides

INTERNET RESOURCES - LEGAL RESEARCH GUIDES

Find Law
http://lp.findlaw.com/
FindLaw's Legal Professionals Channel is designed to help you with your practice-specific legal information needs. Browse the practice area topics for the latest legal news, case law, and analytical articles relevant to your practice. FindLaw's online resources also allow you to search for a case or research an attorney.

Law Scout. University of Akron. School of Law
http://www.ll.georgetown.edu/research/browse_topics.cfm
This Web resource offers topical guides designed to suggest resources and finding tools in a particular area of law.

Legal Research Guides. Marian Gould Law Library. University of Washington School of Law

https://lib.law.uw.edu/research/

Many other law libraries post legal research guides on their websites. Among the sites that attempt to provide access to a number of these subject and jurisdiction guides are: 1) The Cornell University Law Library provides a searchable Legal Research Engine that links to a variety of legal research guides available from approximately 20 law school libraries (including the Gallagher Law Library); 2) University of Akron, Law Scout links to legal research guides posted by U.S. law school libraries. The site is migrating from an older list arranged by law school. When completed the guides will be searchable by keyword and subject.; and 3) Law Librarians' Resource Xchange (LLRX) contains a particularly strong collection of legal research guide for various foreign countries

Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School Primary legal materials and links to a wide array of US and international legal reference websites. From Cornell Law School.

International Materials: Web Sites

Country Studies / Area Handbooks
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Development Experience Clearinghouse: Free USAID documents
USAID is an independent federal government agency that receives overall foreign policy guidance from the Secretary of State.

Elections and Electoral Systems Around the World
This Web resource features a robust list of related elections and electoral systems around the world. (last updated 2014)

Policy Library (European public policy information)
Policy Library is a social, economic and foreign policy resource - updated daily with the latest jobs, research, and events. It's members reach an audience of hundreds of thousands of policy makers, politicians, academics and students. Policy Library was launched in 2001.

Country Information

U.S. Department of State Background Notes
Find facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Country Studies
"On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army. The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world." While some of these books are dated ( check the title page for the date of publication)
CIA World Factbook
Updated on a bi-weekly basis, the CIA Factbook, give a quick snapshot of each nation's demography, economy, government, geography, and other sectors such as transportation, communication, transportation and military.
BBC News Country Profiles
This site will provide a guide to the history, politics and economics of countries and territories. Use it to locate backgroud information on important international institutions and NGO's. You can also find audio and video from the BBC archives.

Agriculture

CGIAR: Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research
The goal of CGIAR is "To achieve sustainable food security and reduce poverty in developing countries through scientific research and research-related activities in the fields of agriculture, forestry, fisheries, policy, and environment."
FAO: Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
"The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations leads international efforts to defeat hunger. Serving both developed and developing countries, FAO acts as a neutral forum where all nations meet as equals to negotiate agreements and debate policy. FAO is also a source of knowledge and information."
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) - Statistics
Provides links to statistical resources on food and agriculture.
HarvestChoice
"HarvestChoice generates knowledge products to help guide strategic investments to improve the well-being of poor people in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia through more productive and profitable farming."
International Food Policy Research Institute
"The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) seeks sustainable solutions for ending hunger and poverty."

Environmental

Greenpeace
Greenpeace is the largest independent direct-action environmental organization in the world.
Sierra Club
The Sierra Club is one of the oldest, largest, and most influential grassroots environmental organizations in the United States
World Widlife Fund
"The world’s leading conservation organization, WWF works in 100 countries and is supported by 1.2 million members in the United States and close to 5 million globally."

International Governing Agencies

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 187 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
World Bank
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. The World Bank is an international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries for capital programs.
International Development Association (IDA)
The International Development Association (IDA) is the part of the World Bank that helps the world’s poorest countries.
United Nations
The UN was founded in 1945 after World War II to replace the League of Nations, to stop wars between countries, and to provide a platform for dialogue. It contains multiple subsidiary organizations to carry out its missions.
The Department of State
Department Mission Statement
Advance freedom for the benefit of the American people and the international community by helping to build and sustain a more democratic, secure, and prosperous world composed of well-governed states that respond to the needs of their people, reduce widespread poverty, and act responsibly within the international system.
International Finance Corporation (IFC)
IFC offers development-impact solutions through firm-level interventions (direct investments, advisory services, and the IFC Asset Management Company); standard-setting; and business enabling environment work.
Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA)
As a member of the World Bank Group, MIGA's mission is to promote foreign direct investment (FDI) into developing countries to help support economic growth, reduce poverty, and improve people's lives. It does this by providing political risk insurance (guarantees) to the private sector.
International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).
ICSID is an autonomous international institution established under the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States with over one hundred and forty member States.
European Union
Europa.eu is the official website of the European Union. It is a good starting point if you are looking for information and services provided by the EU but you don't know your way around our sites.

This site gives you:

basic information on how the EU works
the latest EU news and events
links to EU information on the websites of EU institutions and agencies.

Health

MedlinePlus
If you are researching a specific disease or health topic, this website is a great place to begin.
World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
World Health Organization - Data
Provides statistics and reports from the World Health Organization.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
"For over 60 years, CDC has been dedicated to protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability."

Human Rights

Amnesty International
"Amnesty International is a worldwide movement of people who campaign for internationally recognized human rights for all."
Human Rights Watch
"Human Rights Watch is one of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights"

International Materials: Web Sites

Development Experience Clearinghouse: Free USAID documents
USAID is an independent federal government agency that receives overall foreign policy guidance from the Secretary of State.

Elections and Electoral Systems Around the World
This Web resource features a robust list of related elections and electoral systems around the world. (last updated 2014)

Policy Library (European public policy information)
Policy Library is a social, economic and foreign policy resource - updated daily with the latest jobs, research, and events. It's members reach an audience of hundreds of thousands of policy makers, politicians, academics and students. Policy Library was launched in 2001.

News & Statistical Information

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

C-SPAN
C-SPAN is a private, non-profit company, created in 1979 by the cable television industry as a public service. Its mission is to provide public access to the political process. C-SPAN receives no government funding; operations are funded by fees paid by cable and satellite affiliates who carry C-SPAN programming.

U.S. Census Bureau
Federal government Web site that publishes statistics on a number of items.

DOCUMENTS & GENERAL REFERENCE MATERIAL

Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. It does not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

Glossary of Political Economy Terms
This is the online edition of A Glossary of Political Economy Terms by Dr. Paul M. Johnson of Auburn University.

Legal Information Institute - Supreme Court Collection
The Supreme Court is the highest court in the US judicial system. Decisions since 1990 are made available under the auspices of Project Hermes.

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
Maps on this server are presented as they were originally published. The original publisher/source and date of the maps are provided on our web pages. The University of Texas Libraries makes no warranties or representations regarding the timeliness or geographic accuracy of any map in this collection.

Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress.

Political Science Resources (University of Michigan)
Extensive list of political science resources from University of Michigan Document Center.

Subject Guide

Paula Moskowitz

Contact:

Manhatttanville University Library
2900 Purchase Street
Purchase, NY 10577
Paula.Moskowitz@mville.edu

Subjects: Applied Behavior Analysis, Business, Education, Legal Studies