Library Guides: Music: Music Websites

Copyright Information

ASCAP: The American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers
Copyright FAQs (Ball State University)
Copyright for Music Librarians
Copyright Resource Center of the Music Publishers' Association
Harry Fox Agency
HFA is the foremost mechanical licensing, collection, and distribution agency for music publishers in the U.S.
PD INFO - Public Domain Music
A reference site to help identify public domain songs and public domain music . . . lists of public domain music, royalty free music recordings you can license, and public domain sheet music reprints.

Style Manuals

Need an appraisal?

Antiquarian Booksellers' Association of America (ABAA)
Lists most major antiquarian bookdealers in the U.S. Members can be located both by specialty and geographical region
Professional Autograph Dealers' Association (PADA)
To locate appriasers for autographed manuscript materials.
American Society of Appraisers
Has a searchable database by specialty and location. Click on "Find an Appraisal Expert".

Recordings & DVDs

Care and Handling of CDs and DVDs / Fred R. Byers
An electronic book describing how to care for CDs and DVDs.

Research Web Sites

The Aaron Copland Collection (from the Library of Congress' American Memory Project)
The online presentation of the Aaron Copland Collection at the Library of Congress comprises both manuscript and printed music, personal and business correspondence, diaries, writings, scrapbooks, programs, newspaper and magazine clippings...etc.
Archival Papers in the Music Library of Yale University
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology - Online
DDM-Online is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
Internet Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard University - Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library)
Preeminent music research collection that includes books, scores, and recordings; a world music archive; the world's largest collection of Turkish and Indian classical music; and extensive Mozart archives.
Music Digital Collections (UC Santa Barbara)
Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, etc.
Interpreting M call numbers in the Library of Congress system
Books, bound periodicals, and scores in the library are arranged on the shelf in broad subject areas based on a system called the Library of Congress (LC) Classification.
Music in Canada
From the online version of the Canadian Encyclopedia of Music.
Necrology, from the Gaylord Music Library
New York Philharmonic Digital Archive
A vast collection of scores, images, programs and business documents.
more...less...
Full descriptive information is available at

http://archives.nyphil.org/index.php/about-us
PBS: Martin Scorsese Presents the Blues
Martin Scorsese recently produced a successful 7-film series about the blues. This PBS site offers detailed informatino about each film, including director info and a complete list of performers featured. It also includes director interviews.
Sibley Music Library - Eastman School of Music
William and Gayle Cook Music Library (Indiana University, Bloomington, IN)
Yale University Music Library Research Guides
78 Recordings
Provides excellent information on disposing of a collection, including tips on selling a collection and a guide to finding the value of 78s.

General Music Web Resources

Digital Mozart Edition
All About Jazz
A comprehensive resource for jazz fans and musicians, this site includes lists of articles, columns, CD and book reviews, musician interviews, news releases, and links to other jazz-related resources on the Web.
All-Music Guide
Allmusic can be used to look up an out-of-print recording, to get our take on a new release, or simply to explore the world of music.
CAIRSS for Music (Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Service System)
CAIRSS is a bibliographic database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine.
CDNOW
A merged website for CDNOW and Amazon.com, where you can purchase CDs...etc.
Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature
A joint venture of Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music and the Office of Research and the University Graduate School. Includes resources on singing in foreign languages, music history research info and more.
Choral Net
Lists for choral musicians to communicate about the art of choral music.
Classical Music Navigator
We have compiled information on important classical music composers and their works and arrayed these data in a fashion making it easier for the novice or casual listener to identify additional materials related to the work.
Classical Net
Geared primarily toward collector's of classical recordings, this site is divided into 7 sections: Basic Repertoire List, Classical CD Buying Guide, Recommended Classical CDs, Composer's Works and Data, Reviews and Articles.
Classics from the Silver Screen
An index of classical and opera music used in feature films.
Dolmetsch Online Music Dictionary
Music Dictionary Online's primary purpose is, in the case of non-English words and phrases, to offer translations and, more generally, and where appropriate, to offer explanations and comments about general (non-musical) and specialist (i.e. musical, etc.
Galpin Society
Dedicated to the study of musical instruments with an emphasis on research and history.
Great Conversations in Music
Provides access to films (available in RealPlayer) in five categories: Pianists, Composers, Chamber Music, Virtuosos, and Conductors. It also offers info about each participating musician, including external links.
IndyArts - Music Organizations
Search engine to locate arts organizations near you.
Music, Theater & Dance: A Performing Arts Digital Library
The digital arts collection of the Library of Congress.
National Jukebox
Historical Recordings from around the United States, via the Library of Congress.
NPR Music
The site includes concerts, interviews, news, profiles, reviews, and studio sessions covering various genres of music. A link under "Discover Songs" allows users to identify and listen to music used between stories on NPR.
Oriscus: Musical Instrument Information
Commercial site providing practical information relating to buying and selling instruments. Also, lists sources to aid in researching musical instruments.
PBS: Great Conversations
5-part series of films showcasing composers, pianists, chamber music, virtuosos and conductors. Offers biographies and discographies of each ot he participating musicians, musical examples and external links.
Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923
The New York Public Library's performing arts collection online.

Subject Guide

Albert Neal

Email Me

Contact:

Manhattanville University Library
2900 Purchase Street
Purchase, NY 10577

(914) 323-3133

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Nursing, Physics, Radiologic Technology

Ethnomusicology Websites

Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent

"Brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the U. of Wis."

Afrocentric Voices in "Classical" Music

Center for Black Music Research

This Web site of the Center for Black Music Research at Columbia College, Chicago, offers some resources useful to students beginning research on the music of Africa or the black diaspora.

Ethnomusicology - World Music

Links to sites related to ethnomusicology provided and maintained by the University of Washington.

Global music archive

"A multimedia reference archive and resource center providing access to sound recordings and images related to indigenous music from communities in Africa and the Americans." [Choice]

Music and Dance in Africa

African Studies page maintained by Columbia University Libraries; provides links to numerous academic and popular websites relating to African studies/culture.

National Geographic World Music

National Geographic has assembled a comprehensive databse of world music materials on National Geographic World Music. It offers a world music glossary, directory, podcasts, song samples and a country-by-country guide to music.

"Now What a Time": Blues, Gospel and the Fort Valley Music Festivals 1938-1943

The Society for Ethnomusicology

Good link to sources relating to various aspects of ethnomusicology; includes access to issues of the Journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology.

Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip