AllSides provides day’s top news stories from the Left, Center and Right of the political spectrum — side-by-side so you can see the full picture. They provide Media Bias Ratings for over 800 media outlets and writers, so you can easily identify different perspectives
Gallup Poll has measured and tracked the public's attitudes concerning political, social, and economic issues, including sensitive or controversial subjects.
The New York Times: Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, cars & more at nytimes.com.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.
Pros and cons of controversial issues. Read pro and con arguments for and against topics such as medical marijuana, euthanasia, prostitution, and more.
TED Talks are influential videos from expert speakers on education, business, science, tech and creativity, with subtitles in 100+ languages. Ideas free to stream and download.
Learn about the UNs perspective on global issues. This website offers an overview of some of these global issues, and links to other resources where you can get additional information.
Wikipedia can sometimes be a great starting place if you know nothing about a topic. It’s great if you just need a general idea of a topic to help you figure out the discipline of an unfamiliar topic—scientific, historical, literary, etc. It can also help determine a time frame of a topic. Wikipedia can provide you with relevant language and terminology to help you brainstorm terms associated with your topic so you can begin your research.. Consider looking at the References and Bibliography section (although not all sources listed are credible).
This search engine which refers to itself as “The Global Science Gateway,” is operated by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information—a branch of the Office of Science within the U.S. Department of Energy. The site utilizes databases from over 70 countries. When users type a query, it hits databases from all over the world and will display both English and translated results from related journals and academic resources.
Britannica Online Academic combines Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and other research tools.
Comprehensive reports covering social and cultural issues. The reports include pro/con viewpoints, topic overviews, court case overviews, and profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text content for scholarly articles, e-books, and a selection of historic pamphlets for primary source research. The collection is searchable by keyword, browseable by title and publisher, and can be filtered by discipline.
