Library Guides: Journalism: Finding Journalism Articles

Newspaper Databases

InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Full-text regional, national, and international newspapers. The database is searchable by keyword, title, headline, date, newspaper section, and other fields.
New York Times Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times Historical Newspapers provides full-text access to New York Times articles dating back to 1851.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides complete full-text from a collection of US & international newspapers, select full-text for a collection of US regional newpapers as well as and full-text television & radio news transcripts.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides indexing and full-text content from regional business publications in all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Journalism Periodicals

Click here for titles related to journalism from our ejournal collection - titles like American Journalism Review, Editor & Publisher, Vital Speeches of the Day and the transcripts for the NewsHour.

Media & News Indicators Database

Media & News Indicators Database (Pew Research Center)
This database includes detailed data on trends in the news industry. Search by keyword, topic or click on the charts below to find data on audience, economics, social media, and reporting resources.
Journalism.org-Pew Research-Journalism and Media
Website of the nonpartisan Pew Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism, whose goal is to "understand the information revolution," and which "specialize[s] in using empirical methods to evaluate and study the performance of the press, particularly content analysis.

Useful Journalism Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science. etc.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
is an interdisciplinary archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, includeing African-American studies, anthropology, Asian Studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, sociology and statistics. Indexed articles are at least 2-5 years old, since JSTOR does not index current journals but is retrospective. All scholarly journals are in PDF format.
ProQuest General This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest databases excluding Dissertations & Theses and Periodicals Archive Online. This is a multidisciplinary database. ABI/Inform database contains 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals, including Harvard busienss Review for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and more. GenderWatch provides full-text articles and citations from publications focusing on women's studies, gender and gender roles. Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to to ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals.

Searching Lexis-Nexis News (Widget)

The Lexis Nexis widget below searches News. The widget is equipped for terms & connectors search of LexisNexis Academic's "All News, English" file.

Some important tips:

Use segment terms like HLEAD() and DATE() for a more accurate search.
If your search returns over 3000 results, press the "Edit Search" link in the right corner to use the full product's guided search boxes to narrow your results.
Use the PUBLICATION() segment if you want to search a specific newspaper.

Guide to Using Lexis Nexis-News

Common News Assignments
In this user guide, you will learn how to get the most out of Academic’s news collection by using the index and different search forms to construct your searches.

Select "Search by Content Type" and select "All News"

This attached guide, created by Lexis-Nexis provides directions on how to use Lexis-Nexis News features in order to construct a more advanced, tailored search.

Journalism: Finding Journalism Articles