Library Guides: Applied Behavior Analysis: Find Articles

Pertinent Journals in the field of Applied Behavior Analysis

Select the link for the publications to browse or search within the specific journal.

Analysis of Verbal Behavior
Topics include: elementary verbal operants, autoclitics, multiple control, private events, rule-governed behavior, epistemology, scientific verbal behavior, language acquisition, language assessment and training, second languages, pedagogy, verbal behavior of nonhumans, verbal behavior research methodology, and the history of verbal behavior analysis. (PubMed Central)
Autism
Autism is a highly-regarded, peer-reviewed, international journal, featuring research of direct and practical relevance to help improve the quality of life of autistic individuals and those with closely-related diagnoses. (SAGE)
Autism and Developmental Language Impairments
Autism and Developmental Language Impairments (ADLI) is a peer reviewed open access journal which focusses on helping shape research in the growing field of developmental communication disorders.
Autism Research
MVILLE DOES NOT SUBSCRIBE TO THIS JOURNAL. SOME ARTICLES ARE AVAILABLE AS OPEN ACCESS.
Autism Research is an international journal which publishes research relevant to Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and closely related neurodevelopmental disorders. We focus on genetic, neurobiological, immunological, epidemiological and psychological mechanisms and how these influence developmental processes in ASD
Behavior Analysis: Research and Practice
Behavior Analysis: Research and Practice presents current experimental and translational research, and applications of behavioral analysis, in ways that can improve human behavior in all its contexts: across the developmental continuum in organizational, community, residential, clinical, and any other settings in which the fruits of behavior analysis can make a positive contribution. (Proquest)
Behavioral Interventions
Behavioral Interventions is a psychology journal that reports research and practice involving the utilization of applied behavior analytic techniques in the treatment, education, assessment and training of students, clients or patients, as well as training techniques used with staff. (Academic Search Premier)
Behavior Modification
Each issue offers successful assessment and modification techniques applicable to problems in psychiatric, clinical, educational, and rehabilitative settings, as well as treatment manuals and program descriptions. (SAGE)
Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities
Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities focuses on the education and welfare of persons with autism, intellectual disability, and other developmental disabilities. Major emphasis is on identification and assessment, educational programming, characteristics, training of instructional personnel, habilitation, prevention, community understanding and provisions, and legislation. Three reviewers evaluate each manuscript anonymously. (Proquest)
Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis is a psychology journal that publishes research about applications of the experimental analysis of behavior to problems of social importance. (Proquest and Wiley)
Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders
Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders is a leading scholarly publication that focuses on all aspects of autism spectrum disorders and related developmental disabilities. (Proquest)
Journal of Behavioral Education
Journal of Behavioral Education is an international forum for original research on the application of behavioral principles and technology to education. (Proquest)
Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities
Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities is an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of original research and clinical reports from a variety of fields serving persons with developmental and physical disabilities. (Proquest)
Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior
Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior (JEAB) publishes research relevant to the behavior of individual organisms. In addition to original experiments, technical notes, theoretical and review articles on the determinants of behavior are welcomed. (Proquest FULL-TEXT ONLY FROM 2005-2014)
Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders
The primary focus of the journal is to bridge the gap between basic research at these levels, and the practical questions and difficulties that are faced by autistic individuals and their families, as well as carers, educators and clinicians. (ScienceDirect)
Research in Developmental Disabilities
Research In Developmental Disabilities is an international journal aimed at publishing original research of an interdisciplinary nature that has a direct bearing on the understanding or remediation of problems associated with developmental disabilities. (ScienceDirect)
Review Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders
Review Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders provides critical reviews of topics spanning the broad range of research disciplines exploring autism spectrum and developmental disorders. (Proquest)

Inter-Library Loan

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is how we get books and articles not owned by the Manhattanville University Library. Use your Mville username and password to login.

Searching Library Databases from Off-Campus

This video provides information about locating and accessing databases from off-campus from the Manhattanville University Library. Created May 31, 2023 by Paula Moskowitz.
Video link: https://youtu.be/urh09n-mKNY

The Go To Database for ABA Research: Proquest Education

ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Education Database indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text to leading scholarly and trade publications as well as reports in the field of education. Content includes primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and more.

Begin your research in Proquest Education. Proquest Education includes many relevant databases including the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis.

Go to Education Databases

Here are some recommended education "go to" databases to begin your research with. For a more complete list, check out the box labeled "Core Education Databases."

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete provides a collection of full-text articles, abstracts, book, and conference paper content covering the field of education.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Education Database indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text to leading scholarly and trade publications as well as reports in the field of education. Content includes primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and more.

Remember to search Google Scholar and set your Preferences under Settings to Manhattanville

Google Scholar

Core Education Databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing.
ProQuest General This link opens in a new window
Search ProQuest databases excluding Dissertations & Theses and Periodicals Archive Online
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Education Database indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text to leading scholarly and trade publications as well as reports in the field of education. Content includes primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and more.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 56 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
a service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health, provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as: The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics)
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE publishes more than 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science. Designed to serve needs of the researcher, ScienceDirect contains scientific, technical and medical information. Be sure to limit searches to subscribed journals for full-text coverage.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,100,000 records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 820 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 14,636 conference papers.

Google Scholar Search & Library Links

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly sources. Google Scholar is a convenient way to search across multiple databases simultaneously. Look for the FullText@Mville links to locate availability in our Manhattanville University subscription databases. From off-campus, set Scholar Preferences to use Manhattanville as your library before searching.

Setting Google Scholar Preferences

This 3-minute video provides instructions on how to use Google Scholar and how to set preferences for searching library databases. Created March 2020.

How to Search the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis (Revised Oct. 2021)

Click on the link Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis:
Select the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis in the Collection: Proquest Central
View the video for step by step instructions.

How to Search the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
This tip sheet provides instructions for searching the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis.

How to Search for a Specific Research Methodology in JABA

Off-Campus Database Access

Database Login Instructions

Click on the database you would like to use
The login page will open asking for your username and password:
Enter your Mville username and password.
Once you are authenticated, you can use any database until you restart your browser
If you are unable to log in, please submit an IT ticket .

Single Case Design (Research Articles)

Single Case Design (APA Dictionary of Psychology)
an approach to the empirical study of a process that tracks a single unit (e.g., person, family, class, school, company) in depth over time. Specific types include the alternating treatments design, the multiple baseline design, the reversal design, and the withdrawal design. In other words, it is a within-subjects design with just one unit of analysis. For example, a researcher may use a single-case design for a small group of patients with a tic. After observing the patients and establishing the number of tics per hour, the researcher would then conduct an intervention and watch what happens over time, thus revealing the richness of any change. Such studies are useful for generating ideas for broader studies and for focusing on the microlevel concerns associated with a particular unit. However, data from these studies need to be evaluated carefully given the many potential threats to internal validity; there are also issues relating to the sampling of both the one unit and the process it undergoes. Also called N-of-1 design; N=1 design; single-participant design; single-subject (case) design.

Anatomy of a Primary Research Article
Document that goes through a research artile highlighting evaluative criteria for every section. Document from Mohawk Valley Community College. Permission to use sought and given
Single Case Design (Explanation)
Single case design (SCD), often referred to as single subject design, is an evaluation method that can be used to rigorously test the success of an intervention or treatment on a particular case (i.e., a person, school, community) and to also provide evidence about the general effectiveness of an intervention using a relatively small sample size. The material presented in this document is intended to provide introductory information about SCD in relation to home visiting programs and is not a comprehensive review of the application of SCD to other types of interventions.
Single-Case Design, Analysis, and Quality Assessment for Intervention Research
The purpose of this article is to describe single-case studies, and contrast them with case studies and randomized clinical trials
Lobo, M. A., Moeyaert, M., Baraldi Cunha, A., & Babik, I. (2017). Single-case design, analysis, and quality assessment for intervention research. Journal of neurologic physical therapy : JNPT, 41(3), 187–197. https://doi.org/10.1097/NPT.0000000000000187

The difference between a case study and single case designs
There is a big difference between case studies and single case designs, despite them superficially sounding similar. (This is from a Blog posting)
Single Case Design (Amanda N. Kelly, PhD, BCBA-D, LBA-aka Behaviorbabe)
Despite the aka Behaviorbabe, Dr. Amanda N. Kelly, PhD, BCBA-D, LBA] provides a tutorial and explanation of single case design in simple terms.

Contact Information

Contact Information

Manhatttanville University Library
2900 Purchase Street
Purchase, NY 10577
Paula.Moskowitz@mville.edu