Library Guides: Political Science &amp; Legal Studies: Find Books

Manhattanville Library e-book Collection

Search these subscription ebook collections to locate digital books on a variety of topics and subjects. These databases provide access to digital books, perfect for remote access!

eBook Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection is a multidisciplinary database of full-text academic ebooks.
Academic Ebook Collection from Ebsco
Ebrary ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebrary provides full-text access to a collection of ebooks in the field of Education. Now known as ProQuest EBook Central.
Proquest purchased Ebrary and have updated branding to reflect the ProQuest name.
Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a collection of scholarly e-books in the humanities including: African, American, Asian, Caribbean, and Latin American studies; Political Science and Legal Studies; LGBT/Queer and Women's Studies; Anthropology and Sociology; Art and Architectural History; Biblical Studies; Film and Media Studies; Literature and Literary Criticism; Performance Studies (theater, music, dance); Philosophy and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text content for scholarly articles, e-books, and a selection of historic pamphlets for primary source research. The collection is searchable by keyword, browseable by title and publisher, and can be filtered by discipline.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Loeb Classical Library is a collection of Greek and Latin texts with English translations. The collection is classified by language, form, genre, subject, and date.

Free Book Collections

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 70,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Off-Campus Database Access

Database Login Instructions

Click on the database you would like to use
The login page will open asking for your username and password:
Enter your Mville username and password.
Once you are authenticated, you can use any database until you restart your browser
If you are unable to log in, please submit an IT ticket .

Inter-Library Loan

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is how we get books and articles not owned by the Manhattanville University Library. Use your Mville username and password to login.

Get a Barcode

Stop at the Circulation Desk to get a barcode for your Manhattanville ID card so that you can check out materials from the library.

Searching the Library Catalog

Video Link: https://youtu.be/TDjwBdZPDTI?si=losABC121xMI7NsD

Political Science Classification in the Library

Subject Headings	Call Numbers
General Legislative and Executive Papers	J1-981
General Political Science	JA1-92
Political Theory	JC11-607
Political Geography	JC319-323
Patriotism	JC329
Political Institutions and Public Administration	JF20-2112
Organs and Functions of Government	JF201-619
Parliamentary Government	JF331-341
Legislation, the Legislative Process, Law-Making	JF441-619
Political Rights and Political Participation	JF800-1177
Public Administration	JF1338-2112
Civil Service	JF1411-1521 & JK632-873
Political Parties	JF2011-2112 & JK2255- 2391
US Political Institutions and Public Administration	JK1-9993
Executive Branch	JK501-901
Legislative Branch, Congress	JK1001-1443
Senate	JK1154-1276
House of Representatives	JK1308-1443
Citizenship	JK1756-1761
Suffrage	JK1846-1936
Electoral System	JK1961-2248
State Government	JK2403-9593
Political Institutions and Public Administration of European and Non-European Countries	JN1-9689 & JQ1-6651
Local and Municipal Government	JS3-8500
Colonies and Colonization	JV1-5399
Emigration and Immigration	JV6001-9480
Foreign Relations	JX1305-1598
Diplomacy	JX1621-1896
International Law	JX2001-6650
International Relations	JZ2-6530
Diplomatic and Consular Service	JZ1400-1454
United Nations	JZ4935-5160
International Security	JZ5586-6009
Armed Conflict, War and Order	JZ6378-6405

Google Books Search

Subject Guide

Paula Moskowitz

Contact:

Manhatttanville University Library
2900 Purchase Street
Purchase, NY 10577
Paula.Moskowitz@mville.edu

Subjects: Applied Behavior Analysis, Business, Education, Legal Studies