Library Guides: English Literature, Film Studies, Writing: Journals, Newspapers & Magazines

Looking for a specific journal, newspaper, or magazine?

If you are looking for a particular journal or newspaper, use this link and type in the title in the search box. The results will show you which, if any, of our databases provide access to the title you are looking for.

Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition

The Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse) is a free, online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers. Click here to view the NCSE titles available as well as their dates of coverage.

When exploring the NCSE journals, you may browse by subject or image - or you can also search using your own terms. NCSE also provides suggestions on searching and browsing on the Help page. (See links below).

Databases

The below databases provide access to scholarly articles (full-text, citations, abstracts), ebooks, and newspaper articles that are pertinent to research in literature and languages.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text content for scholarly articles, e-books, and a selection of historic pamphlets for primary source research. The collection is searchable by keyword, browseable by title and publisher, and can be filtered by discipline.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
New York Times Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times Historical Newspapers provides full-text access to New York Times articles dating back to 1851.

Newspapers

Eaton, Jeff. "Ink Stained Wretches." Photograph. Flickr. Yahoo, 3 Jan. 2012. Retrieved from https://flic.kr/p/b75gd8 25 Aug. 2016.