Library Guides: English Literature, Film Studies, Writing: Film Studies

Databases

The below databases provide access to scholarly articles (full-text, citations, abstracts), that are pertinent to research in film studies.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals in communication, mass media, and other related fields of study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text content for scholarly articles, e-books, and a selection of historic pamphlets for primary source research. The collection is searchable by keyword, browseable by title and publisher, and can be filtered by discipline.

Books

Use QuickSearch+, the Library's online catalog, to find books, ebooks and videos owned by Manhattanville. Filter results using links at the left on your search result screen.

You can also try using Advanced Search - change the dropdown from "keyword" to "subject" and try any of the below terms related to film and cinema:

Cinematography
Editing
Film Adaptations
Motion Pictures

Film and Video Databases

The following databases provide access to streaming videos and films that you can watch from anywhere (even off-campus!).

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a collection of streaming video content from providers of academic films and documentaries including BBC, PBS, A&E, National Geographic, Bill Moyers, ABC, NBC, CNBC, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. The collection can be browsed by subject and keyword searched by title, segment, or transcript.

Film Reel

Tulane Publications. "film reel_7025_pbc." Photograph. Flickr. Yahoo, 23 Sept. 2013. Retrieved from https://flic.kr/p/hnrXPr 25 Aug. 2016.