Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Google Scholar: Home

This Guide was adapted from a Guide Created by Kathy Fester, Aldephi University Libraries. Kathy Fester provided permission to adapt this guide. My thanks and appreciation. http://libguides.adelphi.edu/content.php?pid=364890

What is Google Scholar?

What is Google Scholar? 

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. However, most often you have access to the citation--which you then use within a database search or as an interlibrary loan.

Features of Google Scholar

  • Search diverse sources from one convenient place
  • Find articles, theses, books, abstracts, or court opinions
  • Links to articles that cite the article
  • Links to similar articles
  • Locate the complete document through your library or on the web

How are documents ranked?
Google Scholar aims to rank documents the way researchers do, weighing the full text of each document, where it was published, who it was written by, as well as how often and how recently it has been cited in other scholarly literature. Note that more recent documents will have fewer number of CITED by amounts--they haven't been around long enough.

How to Use Google Scholar

How to Use Google Scholar

one-sheet instructions

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

scholar.google.com

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Library Links

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly sources.  Google Scholar is a convenient way to search across multiple databases simultaneously.  Look for the FullText@Mville links to locate availability in our Manhattanville College subscription databases. From off-campus, set Scholar Preferences to use Manhattanville as your library before searching.

Google Scholar Search

This 3-minute video provides instructions on how to use Google Scholar and how to set preferences for searching library databases. Created March 2020.

Attribution

This Guide was adapted from a Guide created by Kathy Fester, Aldephi University Libraries. Kathy Fester provided permission to adapt this guide. My thanks and appreciation. http://libguides.adelphi.edu/content.php?pid=364890

Google Scholar Metrics

Google Scholar Metrics

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Paula Moskowitz
Contact:
Manhatttanville College Library
2900 Purchase Street
Purchase, NY 10577
Paula.Moskowitz@mville.edu