Business and Economics: Web Resources

At Yahoo Finance, you get free stock quotes, up to date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, message boards, and mortgage rates .

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations (This section focuses upon Sports occupations)

Sports Law encompasses a multitude areas of law brought together in unique ways. Issues such as antitrust, contracts, and torts are quite common.

This guide (2005) is devoted to those sports that are the largest in terms of monies at the professional level and/or which attract the greatest attention from the general population. As a result, not every sport is included. The primary focus is on the sports industry in the United States

A combination of sites providing top notch statistics and resources for sports fans everywhere.

The mission of SIS has been to stimulate statistical research with an application to sports, promoting publications devoted to statistical theory and methodology and their application to statistics in sports, and to increase the availability of information concerning the science of statistics and its contribution to sports. Over the years, SIS has been active in cooperating with other organizations, both within and outside the American Statistical Association, fostering statistical education in sports, and, in general, making statistics accessible to individuals interested in sports.

Has salaries by player, team, and year.

The following is offered as a jumping off point for those looking for academic lit on the subject, particularly around early work on the topic. Beyond this, use the usual library and online reference sources to find more contemporary pieces.

By Tyler F.M. Edwards-April 30, 2013
Read on for a brief summary of the phenomenon – its past, its present, and its future.

Made by the esports community for the esports community.

Include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Free statistics from official sources arranged by country, region, or topic. From the University of Auckland Library.

"Catalyst is a global nonprofit working with some of the world’s most powerful CEOs and leading companies to build workplaces that work for women. Founded in 1962, Catalyst helps organizations remove barriers and drive change with pioneering research, practical tools, and proven solutions to accelerate and advance women into leadership—because progress for women is progress for everyone.  "

The Cornell Center for Advanced Human Resource Studies (CAHRS) is the world's leading partnership between industry and academia, devoted to global human resource management. The CAHRS partnership connects leading companies to Cornell University, the ILR School, and leading faculty, students and intellectual leaders throughout the world.

DiversityCentral.com, with its Cultural Diversity at Work Archive, seeks to educate its readers and assist their development of Cultural Intelligence.

This site from OECD summarise public sector human resource management practices and policies in OECD member and partner countries. The profiles include information on the following issues:

The legal framework governing public employment
The composition of public employment, including the gender and age structure of government employment
Public sector restructuring efforts
The organisation of HR management
HR management practices such as recruitment, compensation, and performance management
Senior management
Industrial relations
Reforms and challenges

HR-Guide (started in January 1999) is a rapidly growing website containing hundreds of pages of information related to Human Resources.Provide links to other websites in the HR field;Provide free web-based computer programs for HR professionals and students; and provide guides to HR related topics

The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) is the world’s largest HR professional society, representing 285,000 members in more than 165 countries. For nearly seven decades, the Society has been the leading provider of resources serving the needs of HR professionals and advancing the practice of human resource management.

BenefitsLink® is here to help its readers administer, design, give compliance advice about, or make policy for an employee benefit plan sponsored by a private or governmental employer.

WorldatWork is the leading nonprofit professional association in compensation and total rewards.

The Centre for Global Inclusion is a nonprofit public charity and home of the GDIB.

brandchannel is a Webby Award-winning website about all things branding. Launched in Feb. 2000, we offer original news, commentary and analysis from our journalists along with outside contributions, Q&As with leading practitioners and more.

Evaluates product reviews to be sure only those that are authentic and trustworthy are factored into our final recommendations.

The American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is the only national cross-industry measure of customer satisfaction in the United States. The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.

Browsable and searchable collection of images of hundreds of full-page advertisements placed in popular consumer magazines between 1932 and 1969.

Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

This collection explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising, or "Madison Avenue," as the latter is colloquially termed. It presents images and information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s. The collection represents a wide range of products such as cough and cold remedies, laxatives and indigestion aids, and vitamins and tonics, among others. The majority of images in MMA are from the "Competitive Advertisements Collection" (Pre-1955 files) within the J. Walter Thompson Company Archives.

The Ad Council, the producer of public service ads (PSAs) on TV and radio, in newspapers and magazines, on billboards and on the Web, makes a wide variety of these ads available for preview or download on this site.

The Annual Survey of Manufactures (ASM) provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee. Conducted annually, except for years ending in 2 and 7, at which time ASM statistics are included in the manufacturing sector of the Economic Census.The economic census manufacturing sector is the universe from which the ASM sample frame is selected and provides more detailed statistics. Provides statistics on employment, payroll, supplemental labor costs, cost of materials consumed, operating expenses, value of shipments, value added by manufacturing, detailed capital expenditures, fuels and electric energy used, and inventories

The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

United States National, Regional and Industrial accounts. Also includes some International accounts. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public.

Federal Reserve Economic Data, FRED is an online database consisting of hundred of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, goes far beyond simply providing data:

FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.

the Labor Statistics section of the New York State Department of Labor's web site. It is the premier source of labor market information in the state. From wages to projections to the latest job figures, the Department of Labor has the most current and accurate labor market information available.

Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. In addition to publicly available third-party data, Statista also provides exclusive data via the platform.

Access to facts about people, business, and geography. The U.S. Census is under the Department of Commerce

The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law. Trade associations, chambers of commerce, and businesses rely on this information for economic development, business decisions, and strategic planning. Browse the topics below for information on using these statistics, including sample case studies.

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data

See profiles for each state and by region.

Searchable by zip code, city or county, this site provides information on residential demographics, home sales, crime data, cost of living, etc

Provides analysis of worldwide demographic data. Searchable by geographic area or topicThe Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations

Nielsen studies consumers in more than 100 countries to give you the most complete view of trends and habits worldwide.

The American Enterprise Institute is a public policy think tank dedicated to defending human dignity, expanding human potential, and building a freer and safer world.

The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions

Provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It performs five general functions to promote the effective operation of the U.S. economy and, more generally, the public interest.

United States National, Regional and Industrial accounts. Also includes some International accounts. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public.

. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy. BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP.

The Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR) was established in 1999 to promote democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues that affect people’s lives. In order for citizens to effectively exercise their voices in a democracy, they should be informed about the problems and choices that they face

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

Free scholarly publications in economics and business studies including journals, working papers, and conferences.

Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

Learn how to quickly research a company's operations and financial information with EDGAR search tools. The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.

The Federal Reserve Bank of New York is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks which, together with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., the Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC), the Federal Advisory Council, the Consumer Advisory Council, and the member banks, compose the Federal Reserve System. As the U.S. central bank, the Federal Reserve is responsible for formulating and executing monetary policy, supervising and regulating depository institutions, ensuring the smooth flow of payments, and providing banking services to the U.S. government and depository institutions.

Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies. Search by topic or by agency.

FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.

The widely used FRED® data service is updated daily and allows 24/7 access to over 500,000 financial and economic data series from more than 85 public and proprietary sources

Federal Reserve Economic Data, FRED is an online database consisting of hundred of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, goes far beyond simply providing data: it combines data with a powerful mix of tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data. In essence, FRED helps users tell their data stories.

TheGlobalEconomy.com serves researchers, business people, academics, and investors who need reliable economic data on foreign countries. They provide up-to-date numbers for GDP, inflation, credit, interest rates, employment, and many other indicators. The data series are updated continuously based on the release dates of individual countries.

Wide variety of socioeconomic datasets from the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Definitive source of information about the nation's economic accounts. Articles present the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates.

Numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Provides economic indicators for various industries based upon the U.S. Census data.

The Washington Center for Equitable Growth is a non-profit research and grantmaking organization dedicated to advancing evidence-backed ideas and policies that promote strong, stable, and broad-based economic growth.

The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development. The World Bank Group comprises five institutions managed by their member countries.

The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data, according to the Open Data Terms of Use. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.

The Library provides free, easy-to-access, online articles to develop yourself, other individuals, groups and organizations (whether the organization is for-profit or nonprofit). Over the past 15 years, the Library has grown to be one of the world's largest well-organized collections of these types of articles and resources.The Library focuses especially on free, online and practical information that visitors can quickly apply. Articles are about personal, professional and organizational development. Therefore, the Library does not focus on topics, such as lifestyle, entertainment, politics, philosophy and religion. Also, the Library does not list specific companies, industry information, maps, investment information and listings of schools. You can get a quick sense for the nature of the Library's topics by viewing the Board Categories to the right on each page.

Since 1999, Harvard Business School Working Knowledge has connected the School’s leading edge research and ideas on business management with practitioners, thought-leaders, and academics. Readers are introduced to the newest thinking on more than 100 business topics and industries long before they make their way into mainstream practice. In addition to our website, Working Knowledge publishes on social media and through a variety of content-sharing partnerships.

ABOUT KNOWLEDGE@WHARTON The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania is committed to sharing its intellectual capital through Knowledge@Wharton, the school’s online business analysis journal.

Since 1999, Harvard Business School Working Knowledge has connected the School’s leading edge research and ideas on business management with practitioners, thought-leaders, and academics. Readers are introduced to the newest thinking on more than 100 business topics and industries long before they make their way into mainstream practice. In addition to our website, Working Knowledge publishes on social media and through a variety of content-sharing partnerships.

Bplans contains the largest single online collection of free sample business plans. In addition, it has helpful tools and guides to help you manage your business better. Bplans is owned and operated by Palo Alto Software, Inc. as a free resource to help entrepreneurs build better businesses. Some parts of this site may require sign-up for free trial.

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level.

Pew’s financial security and mobility project studies the financial well-being of American families and how their balance sheets relate to both short-term financial stability and longer-term economic mobility.

The mission of The Heritage Foundation is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense.

The Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center aims to provide independent analyses of current and longer-term tax issues and to communicate its analyses to the public and to policymakers in a timely and accessible manner. The Center combines top national experts in tax, expenditure, budget policy, and microsimulation modeling to concentrate on overarching areas of tax policy that are critical to future debate.

The Urban Institute is the trusted source for unbiased, authoritative insights that inform consequential choices about the well-being of people and places in the United States.

The Washington Center for Equitable Growth is a non-profit research and grantmaking organization dedicated to advancing evidence-backed ideas and policies that promote strong, stable, and broad-based economic growth.

Learn how to quickly research a company's operations and financial information with EDGAR search tools. The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.

Growthink’s mission is to help executives and entrepreneurs grow their businesses so they can create jobs, offer customers better products and services, realize personal satisfaction and wealth, and fund programs that make the world a better place. This site offers a template on how to write a business plan. Take advantage of the free information on the site, but in actuality, the site is also advertising their private consulting services.