Library Guides: Education Resources: Find Articles

Off-Campus Database Access

Database Login Instructions

Click on the database you would like to use
The login page will open asking for your username and password:
The username and password is the same information used for campus services like Blackboard, ServiceHub, and Office 365.
Once you are authenticated, you can use any database until you restart your browser
If you are unable to log in, please submit an IT ticket .

Locating a Specific Journal or Magazine (Journals A-Z)

Use Journals A-Z to find full-text coverage for journals, magazines, or newspapers that we subscribe to.

Inter-Library Loan

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is how we get books and articles not owned by the Manhattanville University Library. Use your Mville credentials (same as Blackboard or Servicehub) to login.

Newspapers

Chalkbeat
Chalkbeat is a nonprofit news organization committed to covering one of America's most important stories: the effort to improve schools for all children.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a newspaper specializing in news, information, and employment for college and university faculty and administrators. Chronicle Reports are not included in our subscription.
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Full-text regional, national, and international newspapers. The database is searchable by keyword, title, headline, date, newspaper section, and other fields.

New York Times (Proquest)
1996-Present. Provided by Proquest

New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to the New York Times provided by New York State's NOVELny program.
New York Times Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times Historical Newspapers provides full-text access to New York Times articles dating back to 1851.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides complete full-text from a collection of US & international newspapers, select full-text for a collection of US regional newpapers as well as and full-text television & radio news transcripts.

Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal provides coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Top stories, photos, videos, detailed analysis and in-depth business information.

How to Search the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis (Revised Oct. 2021)

Click on the link Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis:
Select the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis in the Collection: Proquest Central
View the video for step by step instructions.

How to Search the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
This tip sheet provides instructions for searching the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals indexes and provides full-text access to a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed open access journals.

Searching Library Databases from Off-Campus

This video provides information about locating and accessing databases from off-campus from the Manhattanville University Library. Created May 31, 2023 by Paula Moskowitz.
Video link: https://youtu.be/urh09n-mKNY

Go to Education Databases

Here are some recommended education "go to" databases to begin your research with. For a more complete list, check out the box labeled "Core Education Databases."

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete provides a collection of full-text articles, abstracts, book, and conference paper content covering the field of education.
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Resource for educators and education students. Provides access to periodicals covering pre-school to college and most educational specialties. Includes full-text for many titles cited in ERIC
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Education Database indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text to leading scholarly and trade publications as well as reports in the field of education. Content includes primary, secondary, higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and more.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals provides full-text access to journal articles in the health science, social science, and humanities.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text content from scholarly journals and books in the scientific fields including physical science and engineering, life sciences, and health sciences as well as social sciences and humanities. The database is searchable by keyword or citation information and can be browsed by subject or by title.

Remember to search Google Scholar and set your Preferences under Settings to Manhattanville

Google Scholar

Core Education Databases

Need to find scholarly journal, magazine, or newspaper articles on your topic? Search one of these databases. Important educational databases are listed below in alphabetical order or can be found in our list of education databases from the library homepage.

Because you are off campus, you will be asked to authenticate your status as a Manhattanville student by typing in a username and password. The same username and password that you use to log on to Blackboard/Brightspace and ServiceHub.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary source for peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. This includes the Field of Education
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day and provides full-text access to almost all dissertations published after 1997.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

Journal of Education Finance
The Journal of Education Finance has been recognized as one of the leading journals in the field of the financing of public schools. Each issue brings original research and analysis on issues such as educational fiscal reform, judicial intervention in finance, adequacy and equity of public school funding, school/social agency linkages, taxation, factors affecting employment and salaries, and the economics of human capital development.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. Good for historical research.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is an interdisciplinary database providing full-text access to articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations plus business information including Hoover's Company Profiles.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association's (APA), is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations across a range of disciplines in psychology. PsycINFO is indexed using APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Subscription ends 6/30/24.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. This includes the Field of Education.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. The premier early education journal, Early Childhood Research Quarterly, appears full text in this database.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus

Alphabetical Database List
The library subscribes to 143 databases linking to over 43,000 electronic journals, 5000 electronic books and a large selection of periodical indexes in a broad range of disciplines. All of these resources are available off-campus to members of the colleg

Google Scholar Search & Library Links

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly sources. Google Scholar is a convenient way to search across multiple databases simultaneously. Look for the FullText@Mville links to locate availability in our Manhattanville University subscription databases. From off-campus, set Scholar Preferences to use Manhattanville as your library before searching.

Setting Google Scholar Preferences

This 3-minute video provides instructions on how to use Google Scholar and how to set preferences for searching library databases. Created March 2020.

Locating Recent Sources/Journals

Research Worksheet

Use this Worksheet to help you get started and focus your research.

Research Worksheet-Revised Feb. 27, 2023 (Google Doc)
Keep track of what you searched, how you searched and where you searched. DOWNLOAD this document to personalize.

Research Worksheet
Use this worksheet to help you record your research strategy by listing useful terms and databases that you have used. Revised February 19, 2021
Lined Paper for Notes

Representing Evaluation in Your Writing

Representing Evaluation in Your Writing (ADA)
Introduce your sources and use a variety of signal verbs. This handout will provide several suggestions. Revised February 10, 2021

Subject Guide

Paula Moskowitz

Contact:

Manhatttanville University Library
2900 Purchase Street
Purchase, NY 10577
Paula.Moskowitz@mville.edu

Subjects: Applied Behavior Analysis, Business, Education, Legal Studies

Single Case Design (Research Articles)

Single Case Design (APA Dictionary of Psychology)
an approach to the empirical study of a process that tracks a single unit (e.g., person, family, class, school, company) in depth over time. Specific types include the alternating treatments design, the multiple baseline design, the reversal design, and the withdrawal design. In other words, it is a within-subjects design with just one unit of analysis. For example, a researcher may use a single-case design for a small group of patients with a tic. After observing the patients and establishing the number of tics per hour, the researcher would then conduct an intervention and watch what happens over time, thus revealing the richness of any change. Such studies are useful for generating ideas for broader studies and for focusing on the microlevel concerns associated with a particular unit. However, data from these studies need to be evaluated carefully given the many potential threats to internal validity; there are also issues relating to the sampling of both the one unit and the process it undergoes. Also called N-of-1 design; N=1 design; single-participant design; single-subject (case) design.

Anatomy of a Primary Research Article
Document that goes through a research artile highlighting evaluative criteria for every section. Document from Mohawk Valley Community College. Permission to use sought and given
Single Case Design (Explanation)
Single case design (SCD), often referred to as single subject design, is an evaluation method that can be used to rigorously test the success of an intervention or treatment on a particular case (i.e., a person, school, community) and to also provide evidence about the general effectiveness of an intervention using a relatively small sample size. The material presented in this document is intended to provide introductory information about SCD in relation to home visiting programs and is not a comprehensive review of the application of SCD to other types of interventions.
Single-Case Design, Analysis, and Quality Assessment for Intervention Research
The purpose of this article is to describe single-case studies, and contrast them with case studies and randomized clinical trials
Lobo, M. A., Moeyaert, M., Baraldi Cunha, A., & Babik, I. (2017). Single-case design, analysis, and quality assessment for intervention research. Journal of neurologic physical therapy : JNPT, 41(3), 187–197. https://doi.org/10.1097/NPT.0000000000000187

The difference between a case study and single case designs
There is a big difference between case studies and single case designs, despite them superficially sounding similar. (This is from a Blog posting)
Single Case Design (Amanda N. Kelly, PhD, BCBA-D, LBA-aka Behaviorbabe)
Despite the aka Behaviorbabe, Dr. Amanda N. Kelly, PhD, BCBA-D, LBA] provides a tutorial and explanation of single case design in simple terms.