Paula's General Research Guide: Legal

A nonprofit organization that offers flexible copyright licenses for creative work.

The Internet Public Library's Law, Government and Political Science page

Find background information on the President's of the United States, information on contacting the Presidents, and election information.

Find the earnings of government officials from the Internet Public Library.

The newsletter of the federal courts.

Official directory to the United States Courts and their websites.

This guide is intended to help members of the general public evaluate legal information accessed online. The guide outlines important issues to consider when deciding whether a website provides reliable and current information that is suitable for a particular law-related information need.

Drafted by the American Association of Law Libraries, Digital Access to Legal Information Committee, June 8, 2016
Approved by the Executive Board, July 2016,

This guide is intended to help a person with a legal problem find legal rules that can resolve or prevent conflict. It is most useful to work through the steps and sources in the order given.

Created by the Legal Information Services to the Public Special Interest Section (LISP-SIS) in 2014. Revised in 2022.

"The Internet’s Premiere Law Portal." Includes legal help, legal services, legal advice, law documents, and other legal resources.

Has a section on public resources with legal topic resources, information about the law, and consumer legal topics.

The community-built law encyclopedia and dictionary from the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law School.

Are you facing a legal issue, or just looking for more information about a specific legal topic? FindLaw's Learn About the Law section is the perfect starting point. Learn About the Law features informational articles about a wide variety of legal topics, as well as specific information about subjects such as how to hire an attorney and understanding your state's unique laws.

Search for members of Congress, bills by subject, voting records of Congressional members and more.

"Free Legal Solutions for You, Your Family, and Your Business." Find free legal information on a variety of topics.

Search for bills by word, phrase, or number. Search multiple Congresses, or public laws by number. Also search the Congressional Record. THOMAS has bill tracking and covers back to the 93rd Congress, and is maintained by the Library of Congress.

Here you can find Congressional reports and bills, as well as Supreme Court decisions. This is the first place to go if you have the name of a specific bill. Provides coverage from the present to the early 1980s. Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies.

Manhattanvillle employees can take advantage of the Higher Ed Employee Assistance Program offers a wealth of resources for personal, family, financial, legal and career issues. The service is all
confidential. Explore their website to find out how to make the most of your EAP resources.

LII cannot offer you legal advice or assistance, and we do not offer personalized help with legal research or school projects. Our friends at Justia offer a lawyer directory for paid legal services, and the US Department of Justice offers a geographical directory of Pro Bono (free) legal service providers. (But read on, because there may be other ways in which we can help you.)

The Legal Aid Society of Westchester County provides free criminal and family court legal representation to persons who are unable to afford an attorney.

The mission of LSHV is to provide high quality counsel in civil matters for low-income individuals and families and other vulnerable persons who do not have access to legal representation to maintain their basic needs, and to pursue equity through dismantling systemic oppression.

Westchester County Legal Aid & Pro Bono Services