Library Guides: Paula's General Research Guide: Find Articles

Go to Databases

The Library subscribes to numerous databases. Feel free to try them all. Here are a few go to general Interdisciplinary databases to get you started.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary source for journals including peer-review full-text scholarly content.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary source for peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete covers CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with journals in communication, mass media, and other related fields of study. Coverage includes indexed and abstracted content as well as full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text content for scholarly articles, e-books, and a selection of historic pamphlets for primary source research. The collection is searchable by keyword, browseable by title and publisher, and can be filtered by discipline.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
New York Times content within the ProQuest Central database
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reports covering social and cultural issues. The reports include pro/con viewpoints, topic overviews, court case overviews, and profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is an interdisciplinary database providing full-text access to articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations plus business information including Hoover's Company Profiles.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text provides full-text content from sports & sports medicine journals.

Locating a Specific Journal or Magazine (Journals A-Z)

Use Journals A-Z to find full-text coverage for journals, magazines, or newspapers that we subscribe to.

Inter-Library Loan

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is how we get books and articles not owned by the Manhattanville University Library. Use your Mville credentials (same as Blackboard or Servicehub) to login.

Newspapers

Chalkbeat
Chalkbeat is a nonprofit news organization committed to covering one of America's most important stories: the effort to improve schools for all children.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a newspaper specializing in news, information, and employment for college and university faculty and administrators. Chronicle Reports are not included in our subscription.
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Full-text regional, national, and international newspapers. The database is searchable by keyword, title, headline, date, newspaper section, and other fields.

New York Times (Proquest)
1996-Present. Provided by Proquest

New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to the New York Times provided by New York State's NOVELny program.
New York Times Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times Historical Newspapers provides full-text access to New York Times articles dating back to 1851.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides complete full-text from a collection of US & international newspapers, select full-text for a collection of US regional newpapers as well as and full-text television & radio news transcripts.

Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal provides coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Top stories, photos, videos, detailed analysis and in-depth business information.

Searching Library Databases from Off-Campus

This video provides information about locating and accessing databases from off-campus from the Manhattanville University Library. Created May 31, 2023 by Paula Moskowitz.
Video link: https://youtu.be/urh09n-mKNY

Google Scholar Search & Library Links

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly sources. Google Scholar is a convenient way to search across multiple databases simultaneously. Look for the FullText@Mville links to locate availability in our Manhattanville University subscription databases. From off-campus, set Scholar Preferences to use Manhattanville as your library before searching.

Setting Google Scholar Preferences

This 3-minute video provides instructions on how to use Google Scholar and how to set preferences for searching library databases. Created March 2020.

Locating Recent Sources/Journals

LGBTQ Magazines (Open Access)

The Advocate - Established in 1967, is the oldest and largest LGBT publication in the United States and focuses on news, politics, opinion, and arts and entertainment.
LGBT History Month Magazine - LGBT History Month Magazine represents the diversity, sexual orientation, gender identity and the importance of equality and fairness.
Outfront Magazine - Out Front is one of the oldest and largest LGBT media networks in the nation.

Research Worksheet

Use this Worksheet to help you get started and focus your research.

Research Worksheet-Revised Feb. 27, 2023 (Google Doc)
Keep track of what you searched, how you searched and where you searched. DOWNLOAD this document to personalize.

Research Worksheet
Use this worksheet to help you record your research strategy by listing useful terms and databases that you have used. Revised February 19, 2021
Lined Paper for Notes

Useful Popular Sources

The Atlantic Monthly
Covers the important issues of the day, from public policy and social trends to arts and humanities. Also contains sections on travel, food, and contemporary fiction and poetry.
BBC
The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Covers news and trends in higher education. Regular features include campus news, Washington news, summaries of new bills in Congress affecting colleges and universities, details of new foundation grants, and legislative surveys.
Digital Public Library of America
This site links thousands of Digital Collections on the web. Acts as both a portal to existing content and the platform for new content. Mission is to provide open access to the public and, "ensure that this critical, open intellectual landscape remains vibrant and broad in the face of increasingly restrictive digital options."
Forbes
For corporate officers and other major executives in business interested in developing management insight through review of the nation's largest corporations.
Gallup Poll
Gallup Poll has measured and tracked the public's attitudes concerning political, social, and economic issues, including sensitive or controversial subjects
The Guardian
The Guardian is a British daily newspaper.
National Review
Provides first hand reports on national, international, and cultural affairs with focus on Washington and other political hot spots.

New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
New York Times content within the ProQuest Central database

New York Times Historical Newspaper (1851-2017)
New York Times Historical Newspapers provides full-text access to New York Times articles dating back to 1851.
New Yorker
The New Yorker is an American weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.
NPR (National Public Radio)
Includes breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture
PBS
The Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) is an American public broadcaster and television program distributor.[6] It is a nonprofit organization and the most prominent provider of educational television programming to public television stations in the United States
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.
ProCon.org
Pros and cons of controversial issues. Read pro and con arguments for and against topics such as medical marijuana, euthanasia, prostitution, and more. ProCon.org was acquired by Encyclopædia Britannica in 2020.
Rolling Stone
The music lovers magazine! Rock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts. Find out where your favorite group stands in the ratings
Sports Illustrated
Reports and interprets the world of sport, recreation and active leisure. It previews, analyzes and comments upon major games and events, as well as those noteworthy for character and spirit alone.
TED Talks
TED Talks are influential videos from expert speakers on education, business, science, tech and creativity, with subtitles in 100+ languages. Ideas free to stream and download.
Time Magazine
National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.
United Nations Global Issues
Learn about the UNs perspective on global issues. This website offers an overview of some of these global issues, and links to other resources where you can get additional information.
Vanity Fair
Vanity Fair goes beyond haute couture-exploring the relationships between style and culture in its coverage of the arts, current events, entertainment, and more
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City
The Washington Post
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. The paper is well known for its political reporting and is one of the few remaining American newspapers to operate foreign bureaus.
Wired
Wired is a monthly American magazine, published in print and online editions, that focuses on how emerging technologies affect culture, the economy, and politics

Subject Guide

Paula Moskowitz

Contact:

Manhatttanville University Library
2900 Purchase Street
Purchase, NY 10577
Paula.Moskowitz@mville.edu

Subjects: Applied Behavior Analysis, Business, Education, Legal Studies