An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents.
Annotations vs. Abstracts: The Difference
Abstracts are purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes.
Annotations are descriptive and critical. They expose the author's point of view, clarity and appropriateness of expression, and authority
| Elements of an Annotated Bibliography | |
| Citation |
The single entry of basic information about a research resource Each citation should include
|
| Bibliography |
A list of writings focused on a topic, presented in an organized fashion with each entry showing a citation. Most bibliographies show the list of materials in alphabetical order by the first word of the entry-usually author, but by title when there is no author. An author can also be an institution or an Association (e.g., American Psychological Association or Amnesty International). |
| Annotation |
A critique or analysis of the information resources (books, magazines, articles, newspapers, etc.) used to study a topic. The annotation shows in what ways the work was helpful to the study of the subject and in what ways it was not. |
Example Annotated Bibliography
From Cornell
|
| GUIDELINES FOR ANNOTATIONS | «- Back |
Keep these questions in mind when examining any source for a research paper or project, and get in the habit of questioning your sources. Annotations are based evaluation of sources:
| Author | Who is the author? What is the author's occupation, position, titles, education, experience, etc.? Is the author qualified (or not) to write on the subject? |
| Purpose | What is the purpose for writing the article or doing the research? An additional point is what type of source is it (e.g. reference book, scholarly study, research findings, popular treatment, etc.) |
| Audience | To what audience is the author writing? Is it intended for the general public, scholars, policy makers, teachers, professionals, practitioners, etc.? Is this reflected in the author's style of writing or presentation? How so? |
| Bias | Does the author have a bias or make assumptions upon which the rationale of the publication or the research rests? |
| Research Method | What method of obtaining data or conducting research was employed by the author? Is the article (or book) based on personal opinion or experience, interviews, library research, questionnaires, laboratory experiments, case studies, standardized personality tests, etc.? |
| Conclusions | What conclusions does the author draw from the data? |
| Justification | Does the author satisfactorily justify the conclusions from the research or experience? Why or why not? |
| Comparison With Similar Studies | How does this study compare with similar studies? Is it in tune with or in opposition to conventional wisdom, established scholarship, professional practice, government policy, etc.? Are there specific studies, writings, schools of thought, philosophies, etc., with which this one agrees or disagrees and of which one should be aware? |
| Attachments | Are there significant attachments or appendices such as charts, maps, bibliographies, photos, documents, tests, or questionnaires? If not, should there be? |
| Usefulness | One last additional point: is it useful for your research? |
Adapted from the ASU West Library web site
http://www.west.asu.edu/library/research/skills/annotations.html
| WRITING GUIDELINES FOR ANNOTATIONS | «- Back | Module 6 -» |
|
Rules for Writing Annotations
Writing Style: Point of View Write from the point of view of an objective third person. Most essay writing is usually written from the first-person point of view, using pronouns such as I or we, or the third-person point of view, using pronouns such as he, she, they, or one. The third-person point of view is also known as the third-person objective point of view. Learning this technique adds a sophisticated tool to the repertoire of a masterful writer. Like all skills, one must practice the technique to master the skill. |
||||||||||||||||
Writing Style: Signal Verbs Use Introduction or Signal Verbs to Write Annotations
|
||||||||||||||||
TABLE OF QUOTATION VERBS “John Doe says” is one way to introduce a quote. However, it tends to be repetitive to use the same verb over and over again. Demonstrate your evaluation of the source’s reliability by using appropriate terms that emphasize evaluation. Use these “signal verbs” to show your understanding of the author’s purpose (what the author is trying to achieve in his or her writing) and how successful the author is in achieving that purpose. Choose your terms carefully so that they genuinely reflect the tone and substance of each cited source. Refer to the attached list for some helpful hints. The following information has been taken from: Harris, Robert A. Using Sources Effectively.
|
|
|
SAYS The verb introduces the quotation as information. adds believes comments describes discusses emphasizes explains mentions notes observes offers points out remarks reports says states writes |
AGREES The verb indicates that the source agrees with another source or with the position you are advancing. accepts agrees assents concurs parallels supports YIELDS This source agrees that a conflicting point is valid. acknowledges admits agrees allows concedes grants recognizes |
|
ARGUES IN FAVOR The verb indicates that the source is providing evidence or reasons for a position. argues shows sserts supports contends demonstrates holds illustrates indicates insists maintains proposes |
ARGUES AGAINST The verb indicates that the source is responding critically to another source or with the position you are advancing attacks rebuts contradicts refutes criticizes denies differs disagrees disputes objects opposes
|
|
STATES ERRONEOUSLY The source makes a statement that you are skeptical about (be careful of your tone if you use these). alleges assumes claims CONTINUES You continue to refer to or quote the source. continues goes on to say states further
|
IMPLIES The source presents information either tentatively or indirectly. implies proposes suggests
CONCLUDES The source draws a conclusion from previous discussion. concludes decides determines finds |
