Library Guides: EdD in Educational Leadership: Journal Impact and Where to Publish

Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

General Impact Factor.com

The General Impact Factor (GIF) provides quantitative and qualitative ranking, evaluating the journals for evaluation and excellence. This factor is used for evaluating the prestige of journals. The evaluation is carried out by considering the factors like peer review originality, scientific quality, technical editing quality, editorial quality and regularity and other factors.

The General Impact Factor (GIF) is a measure reflecting the average number of citations to articles published in journals, books, patent document, thesis, project reports, news papers, conference/ seminar proceedings, documents published in internet, notes and any other approved documents. It is measure the relative importance of a journal within its field, with journals of higher journal impact factors deemed to be more important than those with lower ones. Journal Impact factors are calculated in yearly/half- yearly/ Quarterly/Monthly for those journals that are indexed in Journal Reference Reports (JRR).

The impact factor (IF) of an academic journal is a measure reflecting the average number of citations to recent articles published in the journal. It is frequently used as a proxy for the relative importance of a journal within its field, with journals with higher impact factors deemed to be more important than those with lower ones. The impact factor was devised by Eugene Garfield, the founder of the Institute for Scientific Information. The impact factor is highly dependent on the academic discipline, possibly on the speed with which papers get cited in a field. The percentage of total citations occurring in the first two years after publication varies highly among disciplines from 1–3% in the mathematical and physical sciences to 5–8% in the biological sciences. Thus impact factors cannot be used to compare journals across disciplines. The impact factor is based on the arithmetic mean number of citations per paper, yet citation counts follow a and therefore the arithmetic mean is a statistically inappropriate measure.

A Very Brief Introduction to Open Access

A Very Brief Introduction to Open Access
A Very Brief Introduction to Open Access
by Peter Suber

Citation Research, Impact Metrics and Journal Rankings

Citation Research and Impact Metrics (Arizona State University)
Methods and metrics for evaluating scholarly and research impact.
ERIH PLUS
ERIH PLUS is an academic journal index for the HSS (Humanities and Social Sciences) society in Europe. They provide article search facilitated by Dimensions which allow exploration the 10 000 ERIH PLUS journals in detail. They also mark the individual journals thoroughly with key information about for instance open access status and plan S compliance. All are invited to submit journals to be indexed in ERIH PLUS.
Hazing.com Journal Quality List
The Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published primarily to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard. The Journal Quality List comprises academic journals in the following broad areas: Economics, Finance, Accounting, Management, and Marketing.
INSEAD Research & Learning Hub
Scimago Journal & Country Rank
SELECT DROP DOWN FOR SUBJECT AREAS.
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately.
SciRev
Learn about a journal's review process, with data and metrics

Cabells

Cabell's Educational Directories This link opens in a new window
Cabell's is a directory providing information on journals including manuscript and review process guidelines, journal quality metrics, submission criteria and other information for evaluating and selecting academic journals for publication of research.

Where to Publish??????

Where to Publish (University Libraries--Illinois)
This Libguide from the University of Illinois provides publication venues, ethics in publishing, tips for evaluating journal quality and reputation, and other useful information on Journal Impact Factors, evaluating open access journals, and measuring your impact.
Think Check Submit
Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals for their research.
Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.

General Impact.com

General Impact.com
This site allows you to search by title or ISSN number to determine the status of a publication. This site can be useful to determine the status or trustworthiness of a publication

Avoiding Predatory Publishers

How do you avoid publishing with a Predatory Publisher?

Reputable Open Access Journals should meet the following standards:

Provide unfettered (freely accessible) access to all peer-reviewed articles.
Be a member of the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association OR adhere to its Code of Conduct.
Offer a standard article fee schedule for public view.
Have a policy to waive fees in cases of economic hardship.
The journal should be indexed in a major indexing and abstracting service such as Web of Science, Scopus, PubMed and others. You can confirm the locations where a journal is indexed by consulting withEbscoHost Serials Directory Call up or email your Manhattaville University Library Liaison if you aren’t sure how to check these details.
Most open access journals allow the author to retain their copyright.
If a journal you are considering publishing in is sending up red flags by not meeting these standards, it might be better to consider another place to publish your article.

You may also want to check and see if the journal is listed on Beall’s List of Potential, possible or probable predatory open-access publishers. If the journal is listed, it may be sign that you should looked for another publication venue. Beall provides his own criteria for Determining Predatory Open Access Publishers.

Adapted from University Libraries--University of Illnois http://researchguides.uic.edu/c.php?g=252603&p=1684024

Google Scholar Metrics

Google Scholar Metrics-Explanation
Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.
Google Scholar Metrics
Use this link to view publication metrics by category or use the search feature to look up individual publications.

Scholarly Communications Guide for Faculty (LaGuardia Community College)

Scholarly Communications Guide for Faculty (LaGuardia Community College)
This Guide created by LaGuardia Librarians, Elizabeth Jardine and Ann Matsuuch,, provides resources to help with writing and publishing scholarship.