EdD in Educational Leadership: Videos (Instructional Videos)

The videos in this column will help you as you begin your research, from searching for articles to accessing databases.

This video is designed to assist you in beginning your research in education.

Link: https://youtu.be/Afa3ZkBV-DE?si=p75YbPhkiGykgGyL

This video provides information about locating and accessing databases from off-campus from the Manhattanville University Library. Created May 31, 2023 by Paula Moskowitz.
Video link: https://youtu.be/urh09n-mKNY

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly sources.  Google Scholar is a convenient way to search across multiple databases simultaneously.  Look for the FullText@Mville links to locate availability in our Manhattanville University subscription databases. From off-campus, set Scholar Preferences to use Manhattanville as your library before searching.

This 3-minute video provides instructions on how to use Google Scholar and how to set preferences for searching library databases. Created March 2020.

Data mining is a term that I use when referring to how to use citations for further research.  

It can refer to checking the listed references that you have in an article.  This would provide you with the sources that the author(s) used in their research.  The dates of these sources would predate the publication of the article.

Data mining could also be used to show how often a particular source has been used and cited by other researchers. The dates of these sources would provide more recent research.

Citation Discovery in Ebscohost databases

 Citation Discovery features help users uncover connections between works and understand the ongoing impact of research — all powered by the EBSCO Scholarly Graph

What is "Citation Discovery"?

Citation Discovery is a new set of features designed to help researchers uncover connections between published works:

• The Citations feature helps researchers understand the impact and relevance of a given work, showing how often it has been referenced by other researchers. Citations are calculated based on title-author matches to forward citations in other articles based on data in the EBSCO Scholarly Graph.
• The References feature allows researchers to easily identify sources used within a work, which can then be sorted by published date or citation count.
• The Retractions feature (documentation coming soon) clearly marks retracted articles in search results, detailed records, and citation lists to help users avoid citing flawed work, boosting their confidence in the quality and integrity of their research.

How to Create Search Alerts in Ebscohost and Proquest 

(Created by Doctoral Education Student Valeri Wallace-September 2025)

"Search alerts are a really efficient way to stay on top of newly published research on your topic without having to redo the work you have already done. Essentially, you save a search and choose how often you want it to run, and then you receive an email with citations and links to any articles published since the last time it was run. I am not aware of a limit on the number of saved searches or search alerts that you can set up in any one database. However, every database vendor does it a little differently, so you do need to set them up for each database/vendor. There are also other tools that may be useful for your research, so take a little time to look around at the options once you have set up your account."

The videos in this column will help you use various databases, search engines, and research methods.

The videos in this column will help you as you begin writing and need to create citations.