College Writing Library Guide: Argumentative Essays

Covers the important issues of the day, from public policy and social trends to arts and humanities. Also contains sections on travel, food, and contemporary fiction and poetry.

The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom.

Covers news and trends in higher education. Regular features include campus news, Washington news, summaries of new bills in Congress affecting colleges and universities, details of new foundation grants, and legislative surveys.

This site links thousands of Digital Collections on the web. Acts as both a portal to existing content and the platform for new content. Mission is to provide open access to the public and, "ensure that this critical, open intellectual landscape remains vibrant and broad in the face of increasingly restrictive digital options."

For corporate officers and other major executives in business interested in developing management insight through review of the nation's largest corporations.

Gallup Poll has measured and tracked the public's attitudes concerning political, social, and economic issues, including sensitive or controversial subjects

The Guardian is a British daily newspaper.

Provides first hand reports on national, international, and cultural affairs with focus on Washington and other political hot spots.

New York Times Historical Newspapers provides full-text access to New York Times articles dating back to 1851.

The New Yorker is an American weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.

Includes breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture

The Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) is an American public broadcaster and television program distributor.[6] It is a nonprofit organization and the most prominent provider of educational television programming to public television stations in the United States

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.

Pros and cons of controversial issues. Read pro and con arguments for and against topics such as medical marijuana, euthanasia, prostitution, and more. ProCon.org was acquired by Encyclopædia Britannica in 2020.

The music lovers magazine! Rock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts. Find out where your favorite group stands in the ratings

Reports and interprets the world of sport, recreation and active leisure. It previews, analyzes and comments upon major games and events, as well as those noteworthy for character and spirit alone.

TED Talks are influential videos from expert speakers on education, business, science, tech and creativity, with subtitles in 100+ languages. Ideas free to stream and download.

National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.

Learn about the UNs perspective on global issues. This website offers an overview of some of these global issues, and links to other resources where you can get additional information.

Vanity Fair goes beyond haute couture-exploring the relationships between style and culture in its coverage of the arts, current events, entertainment, and more

The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City

The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. The paper is well known for its political reporting and is one of the few remaining American newspapers to operate foreign bureaus.

Wired is a monthly American magazine, published in print and online editions, that focuses on how emerging technologies affect culture, the economy, and politics

SOME INSTRUCTORS MAY NOT ALLOW YOU TO USE THIS SITE.'
AllSides provides day’s top news stories from the Left, Center and Right of the political spectrum — side-by-side so you can see the full picture. They provide Media Bias Ratings for over 800 media outlets and writers, so you can easily identify different perspectives

This site from the Miller Center at the University of Virginia gives biographical information about each of the presidents, a speech archive, and classroom resources.

Covers the important issues of the day, from public policy and social trends to arts and humanities. Also contains sections on travel, food, and contemporary fiction and poetry.

The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom.

This free database includes over 20,000 entries. Search by full name or just the last name. Includes text and videos. Some advertising.

Find biographical information on the Internet through searchable databases and dictionaries, and read obituaries.

Reports on news, ideas and trends affecting industry and the economy for those in business management, with national and international coverage.

Covers news and trends in higher education. Regular features include campus news, Washington news, summaries of new bills in Congress affecting colleges and universities, details of new foundation grants, and legislative surveys.

This site links thousands of Digital Collections on the web. Acts as both a portal to existing content and the platform for new content. Mission is to provide open access to the public and, "ensure that this critical, open intellectual landscape remains vibrant and broad in the face of increasingly restrictive digital options."

The Economist is an international weekly newspaper printed in magazine-format and published digitally that focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, and technology.

FiveThirtyEight or 538 is an American website that focuses on opinion poll analysis, politics, economics, and sports blogging. (Nate Silver)

For corporate officers and other major executives in business interested in developing management insight through review of the nation's largest corporations.

Gallup Poll has measured and tracked the public's attitudes concerning political, social, and economic issues, including sensitive or controversial subjects

The Guardian is a British daily newspaper.

Provides first hand reports on national, international, and cultural affairs with focus on Washington and other political hot spots.

Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Content does not include the New York Times Magazine.

New York Times Historical Newspapers provides full-text access to New York Times articles dating back to 1851.

A weekly Sunday magazine featuring news on fashion, current events, politics, language, business, entertainment, and food, with occasional special issues on specific topics.

The New Yorker is an American weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.

Includes breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture

The Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) is an American public broadcaster and television program distributor.[6] It is a nonprofit organization and the most prominent provider of educational television programming to public television stations in the United States

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.

Politico is a political journalism that covers politics and policy in the United States and internationally. It distributes content primarily through its website but also printed newspapers, radio, and podcasts. It focuses more on long-form journalism and news analysis

Pros and cons of controversial issues. Read pro and con arguments for and against topics such as medical marijuana, euthanasia, prostitution, and more. ProCon.org was acquired by Encyclopædia Britannica in 2020.

The music lovers magazine! Rock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts. Find out where your favorite group stands in the ratings

Reports and interprets the world of sport, recreation and active leisure. It previews, analyzes and comments upon major games and events, as well as those noteworthy for character and spirit alone.

TED Talks are influential videos from expert speakers on education, business, science, tech and creativity, with subtitles in 100+ languages. Ideas free to stream and download.

National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.

Learn about the UNs perspective on global issues. This website offers an overview of some of these global issues, and links to other resources where you can get additional information.

Vanity Fair goes beyond haute couture-exploring the relationships between style and culture in its coverage of the arts, current events, entertainment, and more

The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City

The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. The paper is well known for its political reporting and is one of the few remaining American newspapers to operate foreign bureaus.

Wired is a monthly American magazine, published in print and online editions, that focuses on how emerging technologies affect culture, the economy, and politics

ProCon.org provides sourced pros and cons of debatable issues, as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues, thoroughly researched and compiled by their research staff and editors.

To access a video, log in with your Mville username and password. (The same information that you use to access Servicehub)