Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Library Strategic Plan: Manhattanville College Library Today

A page to describe library planning initiatives.

What we aim to accomplish

The Manhattanville College Library supports each student towards ethical and socially-responsible development for a global community.  Library spaces and programs create community with engaged scholars and teachers.  Library staff and services provide tools for both personal and career success.  The Library maintains a diverse, inclusive, and nurturing environment highlighting service and leadership.

We deliver high quality services, promote academic success, and create community around ideas

  • Act as a catalyst for learning and create synergies (people, ideas, space, Schools/Divisions/Departments, external entities)
  • Use resources efficiently (discounted pricing, process mastering, service metrics)
  • Empower all members of our community to make better decisions (teaching, technology)
  • Guarantee broad and equal access (breadth of collections, ease of use, adaptive measures)

Who and What We Are

Staff

i. Strong reputation for service, as evidenced by Student Experience Survey results over multiple years

Collections

  • Growth in digital formats outpaces print, but both formats will continue to be supported

i.  210,000 books, 23,000 audiovisual items, 259,000 microforms, 60,000 periodicals
ii.  Five of six stack tiers cannot be re-purposed due to structural design of the building

Facility, Organization, and Design

  • Built in 1952 for the exclusive use of library users, library staff, and library collections

i. Renovations since 2012 improved power, HVAC, and WiFi
ii. Autonomous units include the Andrew Bodenrader Center for Academic Writing and Composition, Student Accommodations, Honors Commons, Center for Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship, and Education Model Classroom

  • The Library was originally designed for far fewer needs and uses

i. Students and faculty members were not allowed in the stacks.  Books were paged from each stack tier by library staff
ii. A book bindery was located on site
iii. Much more space was designated for staff offices, card catalogs, and specialized storage

iv.  No food or noise was allowed!

Technologies

  • OCLC

i.  Worldshare Management System (Circulation, Cataloging, Acquisitions, Public Catalog, Integrated Discovery Search, openURL linking)
ii. ILLiad Interlibrary Loan application

  • Springshare

i.  LibGuides CMS (Library Web Site, Subject Guides)
ii.  LibAnswers (FAQ, Knowledgebase, Chat, Service Metrics)

iii.  LibWizard (Interactive Forms, Surveys)

  • Databases (Ebsco, ProQuest, JStor, etc.)

i. More than 70 databases from a wide array of vendors

  • IDS

i.  Expedited interlibrary borrowing for millions of books
ii.  Permissions database governing resource sharing from subscription databases
iii.  ILLiad training, mentoring, support

  • YBP

i.  Streamlined and discounted acquisitions
ii.  Many items now arrive pre-processed and shelf-ready
iii.  Approval plan for profiled print book acquisitions

  • Other Specialized Applications

i.  Mendeley (Research management and collaboration)
ii.  JSTOR Forum (formerly ArtStor Shared Shelf- institutional repository featuring archival images)

iii.  JSTOR Demand-Driven e-Book Acquisitions

What We Do

  • Support teaching, learning, and student success
  • Align with curriculum, keep current with updates and innovations
  • Promote faculty and staff development
  • ​Serve the College mission and strategic plan goals/objectives
     
Services We Provide

 

  • Circulation and Reserves- answer routine questions, loan items, place holds and searches, schedule library spaces, maintain equipment and facilities, and monitor both physical and collections security.  “Reserves” refers to items put on course reserve to limit access over a specific period of time (usually one semester). We also maintain a “permanent reserve” collection, a non-circulating collection which is shelved securely. Processing reserves requires physical preparation, database maintenance, and separate shelving.
  • Reference - Questions handled by reference librarians fall into five general categories: directional, resource access, basic or general research strategy, subject-related or in-depth research, and library technology.  Reference services are provided either online or at the Library Service Desk, by text of video chat, phone, e-mail, in one-to-one research consultations by appointment, or on a drop-in basis.  Reference hours vary during summer, on holidays, and intersessions.
  • Cataloging and Acquisitions - Cataloging means bibliographic description.  Forms include both original and copy cataloging for monographs, journals, manuscripts, rare books, electronic resources/collections, recorded and print music, maps, motion pictures and videos. It also includes processing of pictorial collections. Specialized cataloging is needed for foreign language materials, special formats, music, and archival collections. Acquisitions includes ordering monographs, serials and e-resources (including streaming videos); receiving and updating catalog records for monographs and serials; verifying and maintaining access to e-resources, processing government documents, managing collections gifts and reporting on use of collections funds. The majority of the acquisitions functions happen in the Acquisitions Department within Collection Services.
  • Stacks Management- Maintaining order of materials used in the library as well as items that are returned, in all Library shelving locations
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • Instruction - Both online and in-person instruction are provided in multiple venues, to groups and individuals.  First-year and transfer students have very different needs than do graduate students; our classes are customized to the users being served. We create online tools such as guides, tip sheets, and web based tutorials as helpful supplement to in-person instruction
  • Archives and Special Collections
  • Systems- Maintaining data systems is an important and integral component of fulfilling our mission to support teaching and research. As more resources, collections, and services have moved online, our website has become increasingly important in reaching and serving users wherever and whenever they need information. Through our websites and databases, we connect users to resources and services, guide users to recommended resources, and answer informational questions about policies, hours, locations, and contacts.
  • Administration- Includes planning and budgeting,managing licenses and contracts, billing, and projecting expenses; personnel functions, including organization, hiring, training, and discipline; internal and external communication; maintaining relationships with faculty, staff, and other College units; and collaborating with local and regional libraries and library systems. 

*Adapted from U. Cal Berkeley

How we get it done

College Resources

  • Staff
  • Collections
  • Services
  • Technology
  • Facilities and Infrastructure

Outside Resources (Gifts, Grants)

  • Nancy King endowed gifts
  • New York State grants and subsidized subscriptions
  • Competitive grant awards (CIC, METRO, others)
  • Individual monetary and collections gifts

Partnerships

  • Liaison relationships with faculty, divisions, departments, programs, and Schools
  • Personal librarian relationships with students through First Year English Composition visits
  • Membership in multiple library consortia for discounts, resource sharing, training, support, networking, and professional development
  • Reciprocal access and borrowing with Purchase College
  • Contracts and licenses with Library service and content providers (publishers, systems vendors)