Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Goals and Objectives
Library Goals and Objectives, Aligned with the Manhattanville College Strategic Plan
Goal 1: Design Library Services that keep Manhattanville at the forefront of individualized liberal arts and professional education.
- Objective 1.1: Use Library Services to empower innovation and support growth in new initiatives such as the Campus Common Reading, re-designed First Year Program, Nursing, the ATLAS program, and Design Thinking.
- Objective 1.2: Build on the strength of librarians' teaching skills to promote Information Literacy and Digital Literacy across the curriculum.
- Objective 1.3: Maintain and upgrade both the physical and digital Library to improve service and leave strong, positive impressions.
Goal 2: Ensure that Library Services reflect and enhance academic excellence at Manhattanville.
- Objective 2.1: Provide access to a broad range of top-quality information resources.
- Objective 2.2: Support faculty scholarship, with special attention to junior faculty.
- Objective 2.3: Incentivize and support disciplinary curriculum that includes Information Literacy among course learning outcomes.
Goal 3: Deploy Library Services that enable Manhattanville students to make connections within and beyond the College.
- Objective 3.1: Use Manhattanville archives and special collections to connect students with our history, with faculty, and with each other.
- Objective 3.2: Configure Library the physical and digital library to enable collaboration among Manhattanville students, faculty, and staff.
- Objective 3.3: Provide services that connect to the world beyond Manhattanville, such as Interlibrary Loan, and that promote global awareness.
Goal 4: Infuse Library Services with ethical and responsible behavior that makes a positive impact.
- Objective 4.1: Conduct regular assessments to ensure that users have a positive experience of Library services.
- Objective 4.2: Host programming that aligns with the College mission and has broad appeal.
- Objective 4.3: Ensure inclusiveness by improving Library services to remote and online learners, commuter students, first generation students, and at-risk students.
Goal 5: Employ responsible financial stewardship in designing and delivering Library Services at Manhattanville.
- Objective 5.1: Project and maintain budgets that reflect the enduring centrality of the Library in academic life.
- Objective 5.2: Increase Library-oriented grant writing and fundraising.
- Objective 5.3: Facilitate uses of library resources to generate revenue.
Future initiatives under consideration
The following Library initiatives are in the discussion stages. This list will evolve, and Updates will follow.
- Improve Services to Online and Remote Learners
- Use LTI technology to place subject-specific LibGuides on Blackboard course pages
- Expand access points to Libchat virtual reference
- Consider outsourcing night/weekend virtual service for 24/7 coverage
- Curate/add career preparation resources
- Design services for Adult Learners/Grad Students
- Faculty Support
- Improve research support services
- Promote and support student-faculty research projects
- Help faculty embed IL learning outcomes across the curriculum
- Create a suite of modular, re-usable online video tutorials
- Develop short instructional videos for on-the-fly learning (Library Pit Stop concept)
- LibCal enhancements
- Curbside pickup
- Patron-initiated room reservations for selected spaces
- Patron-initiated Librarian appointments
- Eliminate overdue fines for books from the stacks
- Reassess 24/5 building access for safety/security
- Remain open 24h during finals
- Simplify and improve the Library web site
Implement standardized authentication for ILLiad
- Improve user experience on mobile devices across virtual services
- Improve question intake, triage, and handoffs between Library service points
- Information Literacy instruction
- Online modules
- For faculty teaching classes across the curriculum
- Space utilization
- Correlate Library use with undergraduate first-year retention and student success
- Events and Experiences
- Develop assessment criteria for the Common Reading Program
- Develop a strategy to promote faculty-authored books
- Support emerging programs in Nursing and Health Sciences
- Plan for a future Institutional Repository (longer-term goal requiring both new and ongoing funding)
- Continue building the Faculty Development Reading Collection
- Revise and Update Reference collections
- Curate print book collections with faculty input, including CVs and syllabi
- Improve ebook holdings, using patron-driven acquisitions
- Continue building on archives-related Initiatives, especially with digitized collections
- Plan for operating more efficiently
- Student budget reductions
- Absorbing NY State minimum wage hikes
- Adapting to general calls for budget reductions
- Consider ways to reduce staff and professional salary budgets
- Customer Service (through HR)
- Create Student internships
- Possibilities include marketing, exhibits/displays, peer/competitor analysis
- Promote diversity, inclusiveness
- Expand student workers’ roles and contributions
- Develop space proposals around internal partnerships and synergies
- Update and improve building security
- Improve stack core
- Expand wifi to tiers 1-5
- Appearance, comfort
- Plan potential renovations
- Add group study space
- Add power outlets
- Digital signage for way-finding and publicity
- Financial initiatives
- Seek grants and build on pervious grant-funded activities
- Explore matching opportunities for small initiatives
- Maximize value of membership organizations and consortium partnerships
- Document policies and procedures centrally and comprehensively
- Faculty and Curriculum
- Support Design Thinking pedagogy
- Offer scholarly resources for students in ATLAS courses
- Continue promoting unique archival primary source materials in curriculum
- Be a catalyst by bridging between schools, divisions, and departments
- “Meta” initiatives
- Encourage open access (Events, Services, Collections)
- Foster learning and take leadership on copyright and intellectual property